National Council of Teachers of English Logo

WLU Executive Board Elections - Previous Revision

The Executive Board elections are set at least six months before the end of term of officers and Executive Board members. Normally, elections are set to take place by mail or electronic ballot. All terms begin 72 hours following the Delegates Assembly at the WLU Literacies for All Summer Institute


2014 Candidates Announced


Board Members
(two to be elected):

  • Dr. Brenda Eatman Aghahowa, Chicago State University, IL
  • Joni Fujita, Noelani School, Honolulu, HI
  • Maria Perpetua Liwanag, State University of New York, Geneseo
  • Maureen Morriss, Maureen Morriss Consulting Group & Literacy Support Systems, NY
  • Diana Porter, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond

President Elect
(one to be elected):

Caryl G. Crowell, Borton Elementary Magnet School, Tucson, AZ

Ballot information will be emailed March 15 and votes must be cast by June 15, 2014.

The Delegates Assembly is the policy making body of WLU. It meets at least once a year at a place designated by the Executive Board (usually the WLU Literacies for All Summer Institute), and consists of individual and TAWL group members. Each individual member present at the Delegates Assembly shall be entitled to one vote. Each TAWL group member (as evidenced by the membership roster of a current TAWL group) is entitled to one vote. Elected officers are also voting members. Voting members may pick up voting cards prior to the meeting. Voting eligibility is based on membership records as of July 1.

---WLU Constitution: Article IV



The Executive Board is responsible for making all on-going operational decisions for WLU and consists of Board Members and Officers who are elected each year.


Candidates successful in their bid for the presidency of WLU begin by serving a one-year term as President-Elect, then proceeding to President for a two-year term, and ending with the one-year term of Past President. This organizational formula allows for a gradual shift into the leadership position and ensures that a certain level of expertise is always available at the senior level. President Responsibilities & Activities

Executive Board Members
All other Executive Board members serve 3-year terms with two Executive Board members being elected each year. The Executive Board members are elected by mail or electronic ballot, but in order to respect the international nature of WLU, no more than five Executive Board members are from the same country whenever possible. The Executive Board members shall attend meetings of both the Executive Board and the Delegates Assembly as voting members. The immediate Past President shall serve as a nonvoting advisor to the Executive Board. 
Board Member Responsibilities & Activities

---WLU Constitution: Article IV, Section 3

Nomination Process
To nominate a candidate or if you are interested in being a candidate, complete the 
Nomination Form and return to the WLU Nominating Committee by:

  • MAIL: WLU Nominating Committee, 1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL 61801-1096
  • FAX: (217) 328-0977

Deadline: January 15, 2014





Questions about the election process or receipt of ballots can be emailed to




Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Join or Renew your WLU Membership Today!


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts