National Council of Teachers of English Logo

WLU Executive Board - Previous Revision

The Executive Board is responsible for making all on-going operational decisions for WLU and is comprised of a President, President-Elect, Past President, and six elected officers.



2011 Executive Board
Elections Results

Congratulations to . . . 
Caryl Crowell
Borton Primary Magnet School,
Tucson, AZ
Lorraine Wilson
Melbourne, Australia

Candidates successful in their bid for the presidency of WLU begin by serving a one-year term as President-Elect, then proceeding to President for a two-year term, and ending with the one-year term of Past President. This organizational formula allows for a gradual shift into the leadership position and ensures that a certain level of expertise is always available at the senior level.

President Activities & Responsibilities

Executive Board Members
All other Executive Board members serve 3-year terms with two Executive Board members being elected each year. The Executive Board members are elected by mail or electronic ballot, but in order to respect the international nature of WLU, no more than five Executive Board members are from the same country whenever possible. The Executive Board members shall attend meetings of both the Executive Board and the Delegates Assembly as voting members. The immediate Past President shall serve as a nonvoting advisor to the Executive Board.

Board Member Responsibilities & Activities

---WLU Constitution: Article IV, Section 3


Questions for the Executive Board members or about the election process can be emailed to



  • Rita MoorePresident (2009-2011)
    Rita Moore
    Willamette University
    Salem, OR
  • Rick MeyerPresident Elect (2010-2011) 

    Rick Meyer
    University of New Mexico

  • Bonnee BreeseBonnee Breese
    Philadelphia, PA


  • Brian CambourneBrian Cambourne
    University of Wollongong
  • Prisca MartensPrisca Martens
    Towson University, MD
  • Barbra McKenczieBarbara McKenczie

    University of Wollongong


  • Renita SchmidtRenita Schmidt
    Furman University
    Greenville, SC
  • Lucy SpenceLucy Spence
    University of South Carolina
    Columbia, SC
  • Talking PointsTalking Points
    Carol Gilles and
    Jennifer Wilson, Editors

    University of Missouri


NCTE Administrative Liaison
Debbie Zagorski


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Join or Renew your WLU Membership Today!


Copyright © 1998-2015 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram