National Council of Teachers of English Logo

WLU Executive Board - Previous Revision

The Executive Board is responsible for making all on-going operational decisions for WLU and is comprised of a President, President-Elect, Past President, and six elected officers.



2010 Call for Nominations

The WLU Nominating Committee is currently seeking nominations for the 2010 elections for the following offices: 

Board Member — Board members serve for three years and must attend two Board meetings per year, one at the WLU Literacies for All Conference in July and one at the NCTE Annual Convention in November.  

President-Elect — Serves for one year, becomes President for two-years, and then becomes Past President for one year.  

Nomination Process
To nominate a candidate or if you are interested in being a candidate, complete the 
Nomination Form
 and return to the WLU Nominating Committee by: 

  • MAIL:  WLU Nominating Committee, 1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL 61801-1096
  • FAX:  (217) 328-0977
  • EMAIL:

Deadline: January 15, 2010

Candidates successful in their bid for the presidency of WLU begin by serving a one-year term as President-Elect, then proceeding to President for a two-year term, and ending with the one-year term of Past President. This organizational formula allows for a gradual shift into the leadership position and ensures that a certain level of expertise is always available at the senior level.

President Activities & Responsibilities

Executive Board Members
All other Executive Board members serve 3-year terms with two Executive Board members being elected each year. The Executive Board members are elected by mail or electronic ballot, but in order to respect the international nature of WLU, no more than five Executive Board members are from the same country whenever possible. The Executive Board members shall attend meetings of both the Executive Board and the Delegates Assembly as voting members. The immediate Past President shall serve as a nonvoting advisor to the Executive Board.

Board Member Responsibilities & Activities

---WLU Constitution: Article IV, Section 3


Questions about the election process or receipt of ballots can be emailed to


  • Katie Van SluysPresident (2007-2009)
    Katie Van Sluys
    DePaul University
    Chicago, IL
  • Rita MoorePresident Elect (2008-2009) 

    Rita Moore
    Willamette University
    Salem, OR

  • Bonnee BreeseBonnee Breese
    Philadelphia, PA


  • Brian CambourneBrian Cambourne
    University of Wollongong
  • Tasha Tropp LamanTasha Tropp Laman
    University of South Carolina
    Columbia, SC
  • Barbra McKenczieBarbara McKenczie

    University of Wollongong


  • Prisca MartensPrisca Martens
    Towson University, MD
  • Dennis SzymkowiakDennis Szymkowiak
    Mundelein High School
    Mundelein, IL
  • Talking PointsTalking Points
    Edie Lanphar, Editor

    San Roque School
    Santa Barbara, CA


NCTE Administrative Liaison
Debbie Zagorski

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Join or Renew your WLU Membership Today!


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts