National Council of Teachers of English Logo

WLU Lifetime Membership Award

2017 Award Recipient: Kathryn Mitchell Pierce

Kathryn Mitchell PierceKathryn Mitchell Pierce has spent a decade teaching at the elementary school level, another teaching literacy at the middle school level, and another teaching full time in higher education in literacy-related courses. Most of her work with teachers and her publications focus on classroom talk, children's literature and collaborative literacy assessment. She earned her Ph.D. in Reading and Language Education at Indiana University, Bloomington, and her Masters Degree in Curriculum and Instruction/Reading from the University of Missouri at Columbia.

Join us in recognizing Kathryn at the Opening Session during the 2017 Literacies for All Summer Institute in Tucson, Arizona.



Nomination Deadline:  January 15

Purpose:  The award is presented to a member who has, throughout his/her career, made an outstanding contribution to whole language in general and/or the Whole Language Umbrella in particular.

Award Criteria:  The overall profile of the person will be considered with key consideration given to career accomplishments demonstrated through a variety of means. Contributions considered are:

  • setting in place organizational structures;
  • founding TAWL groups;
  • serving on the WLU Executive Board;
  • serving as a leader of an Interest Action Group;
  • facilitating conference organization;
  • long term commitment in speaking to and working with TAWL groups and WLU.

Award Specifics:  The recipient receives a plaque and lifetime WLU/NCTE membership presented by the WLU President at the Opening Sessions during the Literacies for All Summer Institute.

Deadline:  The Nomination Form must be submitted by January 15 to the Awards Committee at

Judging:  The award is presented at the discretion of the WLU Executive Board and at the recommendation of the Awards Committee. No more than one such award will be given in any year, and there may by years when no award is given.

Past Recipients:
2017:  Kathryn Mitchell Pierce, Saint Louis University, MO
2016:  Debra Goodman, Hofstra University, Hempsted
2015:  Don Holdaway, author
2014:  Richard Meyer, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque
2013:  Kathryn Whitmore, University of Louisville, KY
2012:  Prisca Martens, Towson University, Baltimore, MD
2011:  Lorraine Wilson, Melbourne, Australia
2010:  Carol Gilles, University of Missouri, Columbia
2009:  Amy Seely Flint, Georgia State University, Atlanta
2008:  David Schultz, Mattituck-Cutchogue School District, NY
2007:  Paul Crowley, Sonoma State University, Rohnert Park, CA
2006:  Bess Altwerger, Towson University, Baltimore, MD
2005:  none
2004:  Maryann Manning, University of Alabama, Birmingham
2003:  none
2002:  Brian Cambourne, University of Wollongong, Australia
2001:  Carole Edelsky, University of Arizona, Tempe
2000:  Jerry Harste, Indiana University, Bloomington
1998:  Ralph Peterson, author
1997:  Priscilla Lynch
1996:  Orin Cochrane, East St. Paul, MB, Canada
1995:  Award presented to the Founding Mothers of Whole Language:

  • Ethel Buchanon, Winnipeg, MB, Canada
  • Carolyn Burke, Indiana University, Bloomington
  • Yetta Goodman, University of Arizona, Tucson
  • Rudine Sims-Bishop, The Ohio State University, Columbus
  • Dorothy Menosky, Indiana University, Bloomington
  • Norma Mickelson
  • Margaret Stevenson, Edmonton, AB, Canada
  • Dorothy Watson, University of Missouri, Columbia

1994:  Ethel Buchanan, Winnepeg, MB, Canada
1993:  Yetta Goodman, University of Arizona, Tucson; Bill Martin, Jr.; Dorothy Watson, University of Missouri, Columbia
1992:  Kenneth Goodman, University of Arizona, Tucson


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram