National Council of Teachers of English Logo

WLU Awards - Previous Revision

These WLU awards honor members who have taken the view of whole language as a dynamic philosophy of education.



Service Award

Award Winners

Kenneth & Yetta Goodman, 2012
Katie Van Sluys, 2011
Bess Altwerger, 2010
Caryl Crowell, 2009
Stephen Krashen, 2008
Rick Meyer, 2007
Stephanie Sperling, 2006
Nancy Creech, 2005
Lorraine Wilson, 2004
Susan Spear, 2002
Dorothy King, Shirley Crenshaw, 2001
Peter Krause, 2000
Susan Spear, 1999
Jane and Jerry Bartow, 1998
Barbara Bell & Carol Gilles, 1995

The WLU Service Award is presented to a member who has made a particular contribution to the Whole Language Umbrella in terms of the work they have done for the organization. The work may have a particular focus such as newsletter or journal development, or it may be organizational, such as serving on the Executive Board or working with particular groups within the organization. The key consideration for the Service Award will be consistent involvement in the organizational structures of WLU.  




Lifetime Membership Award

Award Winners

Prisca Martens, 2012
Lorraine Wilson, 2011
Carol Gilles, 2010
Amy Seely Flint, 2009
David Schultz, 2008
Paul Crowley, 2007
Bess Altwerger, 2006
Maryann Manning, 2004
Brian Cambourne, 2002
Carole Edelsky, 2001
Jerry Harste, 2000
Ralph Peterson, 1998
Orin Cochrane, 1996
1995 Award presented to Founding Mothers of Whole  Language: 
Ethel Buchanon, Carolyn Burke,
Yetta Goodman, Rudine Sims Bishop, Dorothy Menosky, Norma Mickelson, Margaret Stevenson, Dorothy Watson
Ethel Buchanan, 1994
Yetta Goodman, Bill Martin, Jr.,
Dorothy Watson, 1993
Kenneth Goodman, 1992

The WLU Lifetime Membership Award is presented to a member who has, throughout his/her career, made an outstanding contribution to whole language in general and/or the Whole Language Umbrella in particular. Among the types of contributions considered are setting in place organizational structures; founding TAWL groups; serving on the WLU Executive Board; serving as a leader of an Interest Action Group; facilitating conference organization long term commitment to speaking to and working with TAWL groups and WLU. The overall profile of the person will be considered. The key consideration will be that this is a career accomplishment demonstrated through a variety of means.








Reclaiming the Joy of Teaching Award

Award Winners

Jennifer Wilson, 2012


This award honors a teacher at any level that inpires authentic progressive literacy learning.


These awards are presented during the Opening Session at the WLU Literacies for All Summer Institute.  A brief review of the recipient’s contribution is given followed by the presentation of a plaque. 

Nomination Procedure
All three awards are given at the discretion of the WLU Executive Board and at the recommendation of the WLU Awards Committee.  

Submit nominations by sending an email to the WLU Awards Committee with a description of why you believe the individual should receive the award, and any supporting documentation.

Nomination Deadline is January 15


Questions about the award process or winners can be emailed to



Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Join or Renew your WLU Membership Today!


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram