National Council of Teachers of English Logo

WLU Awards - Previous Revision

These WLU awards honor members who have taken the view of whole language as a dynamic philosophy of education.
WLU Service Award
The Service Award is presented to a member who has made a particular contribution to the Whole Language Umbrella in terms of the work they have done for the organization. The work may have a particular focus such as newsletter or journal development, or it may be organizational, such as serving on the Executive Board or working with particular groups within the organization. The key consideration for the Service Award will be consistent involvement in the organizational structures of WLU.    

WLU Lifetime Membership Award
The Lifetime Membership Award is presented to a member who has, throughout his/her career, made an outstanding contribution to whole language in general and/or the Whole Language Umbrella in particular. Among the types of contributions considered are setting in place organizational structures; founding TAWL groups; serving on the WLU Executive Board; serving as a leader of an Interest Action Group; facilitating conference organization
long term commitment to speaking to and working with TAWL groups and WLU. The overall profile of the person will be considered. The key consideration will be that this is a career accomplishment demonstrated through a variety of means.

Both awards are presented during the Opening Session at the WLU Literacies for All Summer Institute. A brief review of the recipient’s contribution is given followed by the presentation of a plaque. 

Nomination Procedure
Both awards are awarded at the discretion of the WLU Executive Board and at the recommendation of the Awards Committee. The deadline for award nominations is November 1. To submit nominations, send a description of why you believe the individual should receive the award, and any supporting documentation to:

Mail:  WLU Awards Committee, 1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL  61801
Service Award Winners

2008 – Stephen Krashen
2007 – Rick Meyer
2006 – Stephanie Sperling
2005 – Nancy Creech
2004 – Lorraine Wilson
2003 – none
2002 – Susan Spear
2001 – Dorothy King & Shirley Crenshaw
2000 – Peter Krause
1999 – Susan Spear
1998 – Jane and Jerry Bartow
1995 – Barbara Bell & Carol Gilles

Lifetime Membership Winners

2008 – David Schultz
2007 – Paul Crowley
2006 – Bess Altwerger
2005 – none
2004 – Maryann Manning
2003 – none
2002 – Brian Cambourne
2001 – Carole Edelsky
2000 – Jerry Harste
1999 – none
1998 – Ralph Peterson
1997 – Priscilla Lynch
1996 – Orin Cochrane
1995 – Award presented to Founding Mothers of Whole  Language:  Ethel Buchanon, Carolyn Burke, Yetta Goodman, Rudine Sims Bishop, Dorothy Menosky, Norma Mickelson, Margaret Stevenson, Dorothy Watson
1994 – Ethel Buchanan
1993 – Yetta Goodman, Bill Martin, Jr., Dorothy Watson
1992 – Ken Goodman


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Join or Renew your WLU Membership Today!


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram