National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Standing Committee on Research - Previous Revision


In order to identify and address issues of broad concern to NCTE members interested in advancing research in English language arts, the Standing Committee on Research is charged as follows:

  • to promote articulation across the various research groups within NCTE; to serve as the primary research strand review group for annual convention programming;
  • to make ELA researchers aware of relatively under-researched areas and to encourage members of the Council to undertake studies in one or more of those areas;
  • to explore ways to increase support for literacy research by engaging various groups in collaborative projects and by creating materials to help the Council make the case for governmental support for literacy research programs;
  • to consider developing position statements and other publications helpful to teachers, administrators, and policymakers regarding research in English language arts;
  • to maintain a presence in AERA and pursue efforts to secure private grants and foundation funding for NCTE research initiatives.

2011 Annual Report

Current Members

CHAIR, Valerie Kinloch (2013)
(Ohio State University, Columbus)

JoBeth Allen (2014)
(University of Georgia, Athens)

Deborah Appleman (2012)
(Carleton College, Northfield, MN)

Mollie Blackburn (2014)
(Ohio State University, Columbus)

Ayanna F. Brown (2013)
(Elmhurst College, IL)

Patrick Camangian (2014)
(University of San Francisco, CA)

Benji Chang (2013)
(Asian Pacific American Legal Center, Los Angeles, CA)

Marcelle M. Haddix (2013)
(Syracuse University, NY)

Patricia Irvine (2012)
(San Francisco State University, CA)

Laurie Katz (2012)
(Ohio State University, Columbus)

Susi Long (2014)
(University of South Carolina, Columbia)

Django Paris (2013)
(Arizona State University, Tempe)

Mariana Souto-Manning (2014)
(Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, NY)

Karen Wohlwend (2012)
(Indiana University, Bloomington)

Editors: Research in the Teaching of English (2013)

Paul Prior
(University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

Sarah McCarthey
(University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

Mark Dressman
(University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)


Juan Guerra (2015)
(University of Washington, Seattle)

Audrey Lensmire (2015)
(Augsburg College, Minneapolis, MN)

Danny C. Martinez (2015)
(University of California, Los Angeles)

Executive Committee Liaison, Ermest Morrell
(Teachers College/Columbia University, New York, NY)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Past Members 

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts