National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Standing Committee on Research - Previous Revision


In order to encourage and disseminate research relevant to NCTE and its individual members, the Standing Committee on Research is charged:

  • to advise the NCTE Executive Committee and other Council groups on emerging research findings, particularly those germane to focal issues identified by the Executive Committee;
  • to make ELA researchers and the Executive Committee aware of under-researched areas and areas where findings are contradictory, and encourage members of the Council to undertake studies in one or more of those areas;
  • to consider producing papers that summarize major research studies in language that practitioners at all levels can understand; and
  • to continue to participate in presenting a strong research strand at the NCTE Annual Convention and pursue topics and themes that will attract a broader audience.

2008 Annual Report

Current Members

CHAIR, Joanne Larson (2010)
(University of Rochester, NY)

Deborah Appleman (2010)
(Carleton College, Northfield, MN)

Arnetha Ball (2010)
(Stanford University, CA)

Sarah W. Beck (2008)
(New York University)

Stephanie Power Carter (2011)
(Indiana University, Bloomington)

Colette A. Daiute (2009)

Adrienne D. Dixson (2011)
(Ohio State University, Columbus)

Jeffrey M.R. Duncan-Andrade (2008)
(San Francisco State University)

Brian Edmiston (2011)
(Ohio State University, Columbus)

Lynn Gatto (2011)
(Henry Hudson No.28 School, Rochester, NY)

Stuart Greene (2010)
(University of Notre Dame, IN)

Deborah Hicks (2008)
(University of Cincinnati, OH)

Glynda Hull (2009)
(University of California, Berkeley)

Patricia Irvine (2011)
(San Francisco State University, CA)

Mary M. Juzwik (2008)
(Michigan State University, East Lansing)

Valerie Kinloch (2008)
(Teachers College/Columbia University, NY)

Carol D. Lee (2008)
(Northwestern University, Evanston, IL)

Yolanda J. Majors (2008)
(University of Illinois, Chicago)

Carmen Martinez-Roldan (2010)
(Arizona State University, Tempe)

Julie L. Pennington (2008)
(University of Nevada, Reno)

Cynthia Reyes (2010)
(University of Vermont, Burlington)

Mia Robinson (2010)
(Dartmouth Elementary School, Aurora, CO)

Editors: Research in the Teaching of English (2008)

Melanie Sperling
(University of California, Riverside)             

Anne DiPardo
(University of Iowa, Iowa City)

Incoming Editors: Research in the Teaching of English (2013)

Paul Prior
(University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

Sarah McCarthey
(University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

Mark Dressman
(University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

Executive Committee Liaison, Kathleen Blake Yancey
(Florida State University, Tallahassee)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Past Members


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram