National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Standing Committee on Research


In order to identify and address issues of broad concern to NCTE members interested in advancing research in English language arts, the Standing Committee on Research is charged as follows:

  • to promote interest in research and research findings across the Council; 
  • to promote articulation across the various research groups within NCTE;
  • to serve as the primary research strand review group for Annual Convention programming;
  • to make ELA researchers aware of relatively under-researched areas and to encourage members of the Council to undertake studies in one or more of those areas;
  • to explore ways to increase support for literacy research by engaging various groups in collaborative projects and by creating materials to help the Council make the case for governmental support for literacy research programs;
  • to consider developing position statements and other publications helpful to teachers, administrators, and policymakers regarding research in English language arts;
  • to maintain a presence in AERA and pursue efforts to secure private grants and foundation funding for NCTE research initiatives.

Promising Researcher Award
Established in 1970 and given by the NCTE Standing Committee on Research, this award competition is open to individuals who have completed dissertations, theses, or initial, independent studies after the dissertations.  Deadline March 1

2016 Annual Report

Current Members

CHAIR, Ebony Thomas (2019)
(University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia)

April Baker-Bell (2018)
(Michigan State University, East Lansing)

Tamara T. Butler (2019)
(Michigan State University, East Lansing)

Benji Chang (2017)
(Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, NY)

Jennifer Clifton (2018)
(University of Texas at El Paso)

Keisha Green (2017)
(University of Massachusetts, Amherst)

Anne H. Charity Hudley (2018)
(University of California, Santa Barbara)

Rosa M. Jimenez (2019)
(University of San Francisco, CA)

Jung Kim (2017)
(Lewis University, Romeoville, IL)

Ramon Antonio Martinez (2017)
(Stanford University, CA)

Gholnecsar Muhammad (2019)
(Georgia State University, Atlanta)

Peter Williamson (2018)
(Stanford University, CA)

Editors: Research in the Teaching of English (2018)

Mary Ellen Cushman
(Michigan State University, East Lansing)

Mary Juzwik
(Michigan State University, East Lansing)

Executive Committee Liaison, Doug Hesse
(University of Denver, CO)

NCTE Staff Liaison, Millie Davis

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters-Moore


Past Members

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2019 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts