National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Promising Young Writers Advisory Committee - Previous Revision


The NCTE Promising Young Writers program makes use of an advisory committee and state coordinators. Their charges are as follows:

Promising Young Writers Committee:  To advise staff on the nature, policies, and procedures regarding the NCTE Promising Young Writer Awards, including the following issues: to develop a specific plan for involving more public schools in the awards, especially those with large non-white populations.

To prepare a written set of recommendations for the Executive Committee regarding the following: revision of the structure of the award to mitigate the negative effects of competition on student identity and learning; consideration and development of diversified awards: that recognize development of English Language Learners in writing in their first language as well as English composition; that recognize remarkable improvement or growth in writing; that recognize multi-modal composition (digital or non-digital); and that recognize remarkable risk-taking with the process of writing, instead of the exclusive focus on the final draft; and consideration of revising the Promising Young Writer Awards procedure, to eliminate the test-like, single-draft, timed essay as part of the award criteria, since recent developments in high-stakes assessment already privilege those who write quickly.

State Coordinators:  To advise the NCTE staff liaison on any changes that should be made in the Promising Young Writers program; to review judging procedures; to recommend judges; to recommend ways to publicize the program; to coordinate judging of papers within the state; to help disseminate information about the winners; and to suggest topics for the impromptu theme.

For information on the Promising Young Writers Program, click here.

2008 Annual Report

Current Members 

CHAIR, Kia Jane Richmond (2008)
(Northern Michigan University, Marquette)

Shannon D. Collins (2009)
(Tennessee Tech University, Cookeville)

Constance Hauer (2009)
(Manatee Middle School, Naples, FL)

Matthew Kilian McCurrie (2009)
(Columbia College, Chicago, IL)

Reva Sias (2009)
(Oklahoma State University, Oklahoma City)

Judy Wallis (2009)
(Spring Branch I.S.D., Houston, TX)

Leah A. Zuidema (2009)
(Dordt College, Sioux City, IA)

Executive Committee Liaison, Kathleen Blake Yancey 
(Florida State University, Tallahassee)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts