National Council of Teachers of English Logo

The Doublespeak Award

Click here to see a list of recipients.



The NCTE Doublespeak Award, established in 1974 and given by the NCTE Public Language Award Committee, is an ironic tribute to public speakers who have perpetuated language that is grossly deceptive, evasive, euphemistic, confusing, or self-centered.

Nominations for the Award

The NCTE Public Language Award Committee is now seeking nominations for this year's Doublespeak Award, which is given to a glaring example of deceptive language by a public spokesperson. The words must originate from an American. The committee needs a one-page description of the context in which the statement occurred and a copy of the print media source in which the quote appeared (with date). In the case of broadcast media, list the program, time, place, and date.

The nominations deadline is September 15, 2017.

Eligible nominations are those appearing or published between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2017.

Nominations are also sought for the Orwell Award, which honors an author, editor, or producer of a print or nonprint work that contributes to honesty and clarity in public language.

Send nominations to the NCTE Public Language Award Committee, c/o Linda Walters-Moore, NCTE, 1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL 61801-1096; fax: 217-328-0977.


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2019 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts