National Council of Teachers of English Logo

NCTE Public Language Awards Committee - Previous Revision


To select the recipients of the annual George Orwell Award for Distinguished Contribution to Honesty and Clarity in Public Language and The Doublespeak Award. The NCTE Orwell Award, established in 1975, recognizes writers who have made outstanding contributions to the critical analysis of public discourse. The NCTE Doublespeak Award, established in 1974, is an ironic tribute to public speakers who have perpetuated language that is grossly deceptive, evasive, euphemistic, confusing, or self-centered.

2013 Annual Report

Current Members

CHAIR, Kenan Lewis Metzger (2014)
(University of Missouri, Kansas City)

Angela Hansen (2014)
(Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff)

Donna Niday (2014)
(Iowa State University, Ames)

Robyn Seglem (2016)
(Illinois State University, Normal)

Matthew Skillen (2014)
(Elizabethtown College, PA)

Nathan Sun-Kleinberger (2016)
(Kentridge High School, Kent, WA)

Nancy Zuercher (2014)
(Vermillion, SD)

Executive Committee Liaison, Doug Hesse
(University of Denver, CO)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters


Christian Z. Goering (2017)
(University of Arkansas, Fayetteville)

Past Members


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts