National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Public Language Awards Committee - Previous Revision


To select the recipients of the annual George Orwell Award for Distinguished Contribution to Honesty and Clarity in Public Language and The Doublespeak Award. The NCTE Orwell Award, established in 1975, recognizes writers who have made outstanding contributions to the critical analysis of public discourse. The NCTE Doublespeak Award, established in 1974, is an ironic tribute to public speakers who have perpetuated language that is grossly deceptive, evasive, euphemistic, confusing, or self-centered.

2009 Annual Report

Current Members

CHAIR, Dennis Baron (2011)
(University of Illinois, Urbana)

Jean Boreen (2010)
(Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff)

Linda J. Brown (2010)
(Stauton River High School, Moneta, VA)

Jay Dolmage (2010)
(West Virginia University, Morgantown)

Thomas D. Kersting (2011)
(Briarcliff High School, Briarcliff Manor, NY)

Kenan Metzger (2011)
(Ball State University, Muncie, IN)

Sally Miller (2011)
Hidden Valley High School, Roanoke, VA)

Chandra Tyler Mountain (2011)
(Dillard University, New Orleans, LA)

Incoming Member

Christopher C. Burnham (2013)
(New Mexico State University, Las Cruces)

Deborah Church Miller (2013)
(University of Georgia, Athens)

Cary Shapiro (2013)
(Ankeny High School, IA)

Executive Committee Liaison, Kylene Beers
(Teachers College, New York, NY)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Past Members

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram