National Council of Teachers of English Logo

NCTE Public Language Awards Committee


To select the recipients of the annual George Orwell Award for Distinguished Contribution to Honesty and Clarity in Public Language and The Doublespeak Award. The NCTE Orwell Award, established in 1975, recognizes writers who have made outstanding contributions to the critical analysis of public discourse. The NCTE Doublespeak Award, established in 1974, is an ironic tribute to public speakers who have perpetuated language that is grossly deceptive, evasive, euphemistic, confusing, or self-centered.

2016 Annual Report

Current Members

CHAIR, Donna Niday (2017)
(Iowa State University, Ames)

Christian Z. Goering (2017) (Incoming Chair, 2017-2020)
(University of Arkansas, Fayetteville)

Jason Griffith (2017)
(Lamberton Middle School, Carlisle, PA)

Anthony K. Sedun (2017)
(Linglestown Middle School, Harrisburg, PA)

Executive Committee Liaison, Doug Hesse
(University of Denver, CO)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters-Moore


Incoming Members

Allison Berryhill (2020)
(Atlantic High School, IA)


Past Members


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2019 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts