National Council of Teachers of English Logo

NCTE Children's Poetry Awards Committee - Previous Revision


To recommend on a regular basis every two years a living American poet to the NCTE Executive Committee for the NCTE Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children in recognition of his or her aggregate work; to sustain the collection of poetry books of award winners, past and future, in the University of Minnesota, Kerlan Collection; to recognize and foster excellence in children's poetry by encouraging its publiĀ­cation; and to explore ways to acquaint teachers and children with poetry through such means as publications, programs, and displays.

Read more about the NCTE Poetry Award winners.

2012 Annual Report 

Current Members 2012-2015

CHAIR, Nancy Hadaway
(University of Texas, Arlington)

Darcy H. Bradley
(Eastern Washington University, Cheney)

Kathryn Button
(Texas Tech University, Lubbock)

Mary Lee Hahn
(Daniel Wright Elemetnary School, Columbus, OH)

Amy Ludwig VanDerwater
(Holland, NY)

Terrell Young
(Brigham Young University, Provo, UT)

Executive Committee Liaison, Kathy Short
(University of Arizona, Tucson)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Past Members 


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Another Jar of Tiny Stars
Living Voices


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts