National Council of Teachers of English Logo

NCTE Children's Poetry Awards Committee - Previous Revision


To recommend on a regular basis every two years a living American poet to the NCTE Executive Committee for the NCTE Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children in recognition of his or her aggregate work; to sustain the collection of poetry books of award winners, past and future, in the University of Minnesota, Kerlan Collection; to recognize and foster excellence in children's poetry by encouraging its publi­cation; and to explore ways to acquaint teachers and children with poetry through such means as publications, programs, and displays.

2009 Award Winner Announced
Lee Bennett Hopkins has been awarded the 2009 NCTE Poetry Award.  A distinguished poet, writer, and anthologist, Lee has created numerous books for children and adults. 

Read more about the NCTE Poetry Award winners.

2010 Annual Report

Current Members


CHAIR, Barbara Ward
(Washington State University, Richland)

Rebecca Kai Dotlich
(Carmel, IN)

Elaine Magliaro
(Beverly, MA)

Jonda McNair
(Clemson University, SC)

Mary Napoli
(Penn State University, Harrisburg)

Terrell Young
(Washington State University, Richland)

Executive Committee Liaison, Kylene Beers
(Teachers College, New York, NY)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Past Members

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Another Jar of Tiny Stars
Living Voices


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram