National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children's Literature Committee - Previous Revision


To select the recipient of the annual Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children and up to five honor books; to propose a session on nonfiction books for children and plan a session featuring the award winning author at NCTE's Annual Convention; and to promote the use of nonfiction children's books in the classroom.

Read more about the Orbis Pictus Award selection process and view the current list of award-winning books. 

2011 Annual Report   


Current Members

CHAIR: Fran Wilson (2013)
(Madeira Elementary School, Cincinnati, OH)

Barbara Chatton (2012)
(University of Wyoming, Laramie)

Cyndi Giorgis (2014)
(University of Nevada, Las Vegas)

Janice V. Kristo (2012)
(University of Maine, Orono)

Sue Christian Parsons (2014)
(Oklahoma State University, Stillwater)

Deborah L. Thompson (2013)
The College of New Jersey, Ewing)

Lisa Morris-Wilkey (2013)
(Ironwood Elementary School, Casa Grande, AZ)

Executive Committee Liaison, Ernest Morrell
(Teachers College/Columbia University, New York, NY)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Past Members 

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

The Best in Children's Nonfiction


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts