National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children's Literature Committee - Previous Revision


To select the recipient of the annual Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children and up to five honor books; to propose a session on non¬fiction books for children and plan a session fea¬turing the award winning author at NCTE's Annual Convention; and to promote the use of nonfiction children's books in the classroom.

Current Members

CHAIR, Kim Ford (2010)
(Cypress Middle School, Memphis, TN)

Carol Avery (2009)
(Lancaster, PA)

Mingshui Cai (2010)
(University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls)

Jeffrey Kaplan (2011)
(University of Central Florida, Orlando)

Fran Wilson (2010)
(Madeira Elementary School, Cincinnati, OH)

Diana L. Porter (2011)
(Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond)

Terrell A. Young (2009)
(Washington State University, Richland)

Executive Committee Liaison, Joanne Yatvin 
(Portland, OR)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

The Best in Children's Nonfiction


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts