National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children's Literature Committee


Orbis Pictus SealTo select the recipient of the annual Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children and up to five honor books; to propose a session on nonfiction books for children and plan a session featuring the award winning author at NCTE's Annual Convention; and to promote the use of nonfiction children's books in the classroom.

The award will be presented at the Children's Book Awards Luncheon at the NCTE Annual Convention.

Apply to be on the Committee

View the list of award-winning books.


2016 Annual Report

Current Members

Mary Ann Cappiello (December 2018)
(Lesley University, Cambridge, MA)

Seemi Aziz (December 2019)
(University of Arizona, Tucson)

Denise Davila (December 2018)
(University of Nevada, Las Vegas)

Daryl Grabarek (December 2019)
(School Library Journal, New York, NY)

Jennifer M. Graff (December 2018)
(University of Georgia, Athens)

Scott Riley (December 2017)

Julie Waugh (December 2019)
(The Center for Inquiry, Columbia, SC)

Executive Committee Liaison, Franki Sibberson
(Indian Run Elementary School, Dublin, OH)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters-Moore

Past Members 

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

The Best in Children's Nonfiction


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram