National Council of Teachers of English Logo

NCTE Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction for Children

This award was established in 2014 to promote and recognize excellence in the writing of fiction for children. In particular this award recognizes fiction that has the potential for transforming children's lives by inviting compassion, imagination, and wonder. The award will be presented at the Children's Book Awards Luncheon at the NCTE Annual Convention.

NOTE:  The first award was presented at the 2015 NCTE Annual Convention in Minneapolis.

Apply to be on the Committee

To select the recipient of the annual Charlotte Huck Award and up to five honor books with both authors and illustrators receiving recognition.

2014 Annual Report

Current Members

Erika Thulin Dawes (December 2018)
(Lesley University, Cambridge, MA)

Maria V. Acevedo (December 2019)
(University of Massachusetts, Boston)

Bettie Parsons Barger (December 2019)
(Charlotte, NC)

Desiree W. Cueto (December 2018)
(Tucson Unified School District, AZ)

Mary Lee Hahn (December 2019)
(Daniel Wright Elementary School, Columbus, OH)

Joyce Herbeck (December 2017)
(Montana State University, Bozeman)

Stacey Ross (December 2017)
(Casis Elementary School, Austin, TX)

Executive Committee Liaison, Franki Sibberson
(Indian Run Elementary School, Dublin, OH)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters-Moore

Past Members

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:


Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram