National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Standing Committee Against Censorship - Previous Revision


To solicit and receive reports of censorship incidents from NCTE members, constituent groups, and sources outside the Council; to serve as a resource on current patterns of censorship; supporting the anti-censorship service office at headquarters; to develop written guidelines for students' Right to Write, including advice for schools dealing with situations in which student writing is taken as threatening to the safety of other students, where freedom of expression must be weighed against individual or school security; to develop a written position on whether the narrowing of the curriculum that occurs in response to high-stakes testing can be understood as censorship.  Such a position may be related to your Right to Write work, but it may also warrant a separate statement; and to develop a written position on whether the restriction of student language to English may be an act of censorship, and whether schools in which students speak multiple languages but where only English is evident in print materials is an instance of censorship.

2009 Annual Report

Current Members

CHAIR, Teri S. Lesesne (2011)
(Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX)

Carol Bedard (2011)
(University of Houston-Downtown, TX)

Christian Bracho (2010)
(Los Altos High School, Hacienda Hgts, CA)

Maridella Carter (2010)
(Blue Springs South High School, MO)

Charles Ellenbogen (2009)
(Harding High School, St. Paul, MN)

Cyndi Giorgis (2011)
(University of Nevada, Las Vegas)

Laretta Henderson (2010)
(University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee)

Laura Huertero (2009)
(Fairmont High School, NC)

Joan Kaywell (2010)
(University of South Florida, Tampa)

Susan Lehr (2011)
(Skidmore College, Saratoga Springs, NY)

ReLeah Cossett Lent (2011)
(Morgantown, GA)

Amy McClure (2009)
(Ohio Wesleyan University, Delaware)

Rene Saldana, Jr. (2010)
(Texas Tech University, Lubbock)

Lisa Scherff (2011)
(University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa)

Dan Schwartz (2009)
(Anchorage, AK)

Incoming Members

Brandon Abdon (2012)
(Highlands High School, Ft Thomas, KY)

Dwedor Morais Ford (2012)
(Winston-Salem State University, NC)

Ambika Gopalakrishnan (2012)
(California State University, Los Angeles)

Martha Magner (2012)
(Literacy Consultant, Suffern, NY)

Executive Committee Liaison, Kathleen Blake Yancey
(Florida State University, Tallahassee)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Past Members

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Get involved today!
Related Resources
Rationales for Challenged Books


Copyright © 1998-2015 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram