National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Standing Committee on Affiliates - Previous Revision


In order to promote the professional competence and strengthen the public voices of affiliates and their individual members, the Standing Committee on Affiliates is charged:

  • to seek ways of improving two-way communication between and within affiliates;
  • to keep up-to-date with NCTE policies, structural changes, and focal issues and inform affiliate groups in a timely fashion;
  • to organize affiliated events at NCTE conventions and encourage affiliate members to attend;
  • to take an active role in bringing Affiliate concerns to the Executive Committee;
  • to encourage members of affiliates to join NCTE and become active in NCTE  programs and projects; and 
  • to encourage greater use of NCTE resources (e.g., cosponsored speakers, professional development opportunities at the local level).

Current Members

CHAIR, Ruth Townsend Story (2008)
(Portland, ME)

INCOMING CHAIR, Dave Wendelin (2011)
(Lakewood, CO)

Patricia L. Schall (2010)
(College of St. Elizabeth, Morristown, NJ)
Region 1: CT, DE, ME, MA, NH, NJ, NY, RI, VT

Robert Dandoy (2008)
(Karns CIty, PA)
Region 2: DC, KY, MD, OH, PA, VA, WV

INCOMING, Janice Suppa-Friedman (2011)
(Stanardsville, VA)
Region 2: DC, KY, MD, OH, PA, VA, WV

Alan Perry (2008)
(Chattooga High School, Summerville, GA)
Region 3: AL, FL, GA, MS, NC, SC, TN

INCOMING, Scott Harrison (2011)
(White Station High School, Memphis, TN)
Region 3: AL, FL, GA, MS, NC, SC, TN

Claire Lamonica (2010)
(Illinois State University, Normal)
Region 4: IL, IN, MB, MI, MN, ND, SD, WI

Connie Nagel (2010)
(Pleasant Valley Jr. High School, LeClaire, IA)
Region 5: AR, IA, KS, MO, NE, OK

Shirley Wright (2010)
(Carroltton-Farmers Branch ISD, TX)
Region 6: LA, NM, TX

Ulrich Hardt (2008)
(Portland State University, OR)
Region 7: AK, AB, BC, ID, MT, OR, SK, WA, WY

INCOMING, Steve Stanley (2011)
(Mark R. Isfeld Secondary, Courtenay, BC, Canada)
Region 7: AK, AB, BC, ID, MT, OR, SK, WA, WY

Starla Sieveke-Pearson (2008)
(Sierra Middle School, Parker, CO)
Region 8: AZ, CA, CO, HI, NV, UT

INCOMING, Donna Grace (2011)
(University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Region 8: AZ, CA, CO, HI, NV, UT

Executive Committee Liaison, Carol Ann Jago
(Pacific Palisades, CA)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram