National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Standing Committee on Affiliates


In order to promote the professional competence and strengthen the public voices of affiliates and their individual members, the Standing Committee on Affiliates is charged:

  • to seek ways of improving communication between and within affiliates;
  • to recruit, mentor, and support new affiliate leaders
  • to energize affiliates and to encourage them to develop year-round activities
  • to keep up-to-date with NCTE policies, structural changes, and focal issues and inform affiliate groups in a timely fashion;
  • to organize affiliated events at NCTE conventions and encourage affiliate members to attend;
  • to take an active role in bringing Affiliate concerns and innovative ideas to the NCTE Executive Committee;
  • to encourage members of affiliates to join NCTE and become active in NCTE  programs and projects;  
  • to encourage greater use of NCTE resources (e.g, NCLE, NCTE journals and publications); and
  • to encourage Affiliate activities in support of the NCTE’s Advocacy Day and to make connections between the NCTE Legislative platform and state-level advocacy.

2016 Annual Report

Current Members

CHAIR, Jean Boreen (2018)
(Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff)

Lawrence Butti (2020)
(New York)
Region 1: CT, DE, ME, MA, NH, NY, RI, VT

Margaret J. Ford (2019)
Campbell, OH
Region 2: DC, KY, MD, NJ, OH, PA, VA, WV

Julie Rucker (2019)
(Tift County High School, Tifton, GA)
Region 3: AL, FL, GA, MS, NC, SC, TN

Cheryl Simonds (2020)
(Carbondale Community High School, IL)
Region 4: IL, IN, MB, MI, MN, ND, SD, WI

Dixie K. Keyes (2017)
(Arkansas State University, Jonesboro)
Region 5: AR, IA, KS, MO, NE, OK

Tracy Kriese (2020)
(West Ridge Middle School, Austin, TX)
Region 6: LA, NM, TX

Curtis Bobbitt (2017)
(University of Great Falls, MT)
Region 7: AK, AB, BC, ID, MT, OR, SK, WA, WY

Stacey Takanishi (2019)
(University of Hawaii-Manoa, Honolulu)
Region 8: AZ, CA, CO, HI, NV, UT

Executive Committee Liaison, Franki Sibberson
(Indian Run Elementary School, Dublin, OH)

NCTE Staff Liaison, Millie Davis

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters-Moore


L. A. Baines (2021)
(University of Oklahoma, Norman)
Region 5: AR, IA, KS, MO, NE, OK

Jeana M. Hrepich (2021)
(Antioch University, Seattle, WA)
Region 7: AK, AB, BC, ID, MT, OR, SK, WA, WY

Past Members

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram