National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Achievement Awards in Writing Advisory Committee


The NCTE Achievement Awards in Writing program makes use of an advisory committee and state coordina­tors.

Achievement Awards Advisory Committee:  To advise staff on the nature, policies, and procedures regarding the NCTE Achievement Awards, including the following issues: development of a specific plan for involving more public schools in the awards, especially those with large nonwhite populations; revision of the structure of the award to mitigate the negative effects of competition on student identity and learning; consideration and development of diversified awards: that recognize remarkable improvement or growth in writing; that recognize multimodal composition (digital or non-digital); and that recognize remarkable risk-taking with the process of writing, instead of the exclusive focus on the final draft; and consideration of revising the Achievement Awards procedure, to eliminate the test-like, single-draft, timed essay as part of the award criteria, since recent developments in high-stakes assessment already privilege those who write quickly; and to consider and make recommendations for ways that the work might interface with NCTE’s National Day on Writing.

State Coordinators:  To advise the NCTE staff liaison on any changes that should be made in the Achievement Awards program; review judging procedures; recommend judges; recommend ways of publicizing the program; investigate ways of aiding the winners; and give suggestions for the impromptu theme topic.

For information on the Achievement Awards in Writing Awards Program for 11th grade students, click here.

2016 Annual Report

Current Members

CHAIR, Dana Maloney (2018)
(Tenafly High School, NJ)

Julie Baker (2017)
(Northeastern University, Boston, MA)

Tracy Coleman (2018)
(Mentor High School, OH)

Debbie Greco (2019)
(Highland High School, Pocatello, ID)

Elizabeth Lietz (2019)
(Macomb Intermediate School District, Clinton Twp, MI)

Logan Manning (2019)
(Alternatives in Action High School, Oakland, CA)

Carissa Morrison (2017)
(Seligman High School, AZ)

R. Joseph Rodriguez (2019)
(University of Texas at El Paso)

Renee Rude (2018)
(Chandler-Gilbert Community College, AZ)

Dwan Simmons (2019)
(Athens Academy, GA)

Katherine Walker (2018)
(State College Area High School, PA)

Anne M. Weir (2018)
(Waco Jr/Sr High School, Wayland, IA)

Executive Committee Liaison, Jocelyn Chadwick
(Harvard Graduate of Education, Cambridge, MA)

NCTE Administrative Liaison, Linda Walters-Moore



Rebecca Piazzoni Chatham (2020)
(University of Arkansas, Fayetteville)

Kaci Morgan (2020)
(CityLab High School, Dallas, TX)


Past Members

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Using the Writer's Notebook in Grades 3-8


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts