National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Help Shape the Future of NCTE - Previous Revision

Beginning this year NCTE, CEE, and TYCA election ballots will be sent by email to current members. If NCTE does not have an email address for you on file and you would like to receive a ballot by email. please visit and add it to your membership record. (You may also use this url to change your email address or to update your member profile). If NCTE does not have an email address on file for you by March 20, your ballot will be sent by mail.

Completed ballots must be returned to NCTE by June 1. Results of the elections will be posted by mid-June.

NCTE Elections

For Vice President (one to be elected, term to expire in 2014): Michael Day, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb; Douglas D. Hesse, University of Denver, Colorado; Marilyn Valentino, Lorain County Community College, Ohio.

For Elementary Representative-at-Large (one to be elected, term to expire in 2015): Lisa Martin, Clark County School District, Las Vegas, Nevada; Jennifer McDonough, The Benjamin School, North Palm Beach, Florida.

For Middle Level Representative-at-Large (one to be elected, term to expire in 2015): Kellee Moye, Orange County Public Schools, Orlando, Florida; Zanetta K. Robinson, Thurgood Marshall Fundamental Middle School, St. Petersburg, Florida.

For Trustees of the Research Foundation (two to be elected, term to expire in 2015): Linda Adler-Kassner, University of California, Santa Barbara; Judith A. Hayn, University of Arkansas at Little Rock; Elizabeth Spalding, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; Leigh Van Horn, University of Houston Downtown, Texas.

2013 Election Candidates

For the NCTE Nominating Committee (one to be elected from each group, term to expire in  2014):

Group A (from the Secondary Section): Maria Estala Brisk, Boston College, Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts; Lori Mayo, Queens High School of Teacher, New York; Mary Sawyer, State University of New York at New Paltz.

Group B (from the College Section): Diane Kelly Riley, Washington State University, Pullman; Terri Pantuso, Prairie View A&M University, Texas; Robert Petrone, Montana State University, Bozeman.

Group C (from the Middle Level Section): Toby Kahn-Loftus, Western Michigan University, Kalamasoo; William Kist, Kent State University, Ohio; name to come.

Group D (from the Elementary Section): Catherine Compton-Lilly, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Candace Kuby, University of Missouri, Columbia; Doris Walker-Dalhouse, Marquette University, Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Group E (from the Middle Level Section): Tonya Perry, University of Alabama at Birmingham; Michael J. Vokoun, Corbett Preparatory School of IDS, Tampa, Florida; Shelbie Witte, Florida State University, Tallahassee.

Meet the current NCTE Executive Committee.


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Click here for more Centannial information!


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts