National Council of Teachers of English Logo

High School Teacher of Excellence Award

2014 Award Winners Announced

The Secondary Section of NCTE wishes to recognize and celebrate high school classroom teachers. 

Who Can Participate:  All state, provincial, regional, and local affiliates.

Number of Awards:  Annually, each affiliate will determine one person in that affiliate to receive this award from the Secondary Section.

Award Specifics:  Each recipient will be recognized at the Secondary Luncheon at the November NCTE Annual Convention. Each recipient will be responsible for purchasing his or her own luncheon ticket and tickets for any guests, but reserved seating will be offered. A booklet is provided at the luncheon highlighting comments from the letters of recommendation, along with a certificate from the Secondary Section. 

Award Criteria:  Each affiliate is at liberty to select a person for this honor in the manner of its choice.  An affiliate’s governing board might acknowledge someone who has previously won an award within the affiliate, thus moving that person’s recognition to a national level, or the affiliate might advertise for applications for nominations before choosing a winner. 

Honoree Supporting Data:  The affiliate contact person is responsible for submitting the honoree's resume and signed letters of support from at least TWO different constituencies---principal, supervisor, chairperson, peer, parent or student---about contributions in the classroom and excellent practices exhibited by the recipient. These items, including the Award Nomination Form, should be emailed or mailed to the Secondary Section Steering Committee administrator for this honor.

Deadline:  Documentation including the Award Nomination Form should be emailed or sent by regular mail to the Secondary Section Steering Committee Administrative Liaison by the award deadline of May 1.

Administration:  The Secondary Section Steering Committee will administer the award.  The Secondary Section Chair will appoint administrator(s) each year. Members of the Secondary Section Steering Committee will assist in advertising this award in their home regions, and information will be available through the NCTE website.

Acknowledgment:  Awardees will receive a form to submit to their local newspaper acknowledging that they have received this award

Documentation should be emailed or sent by regular post to:


Kelly Searsmith
National Council of Teachers of English
High School Teacher of Excellence Award
1111 W. Kenyon Road
Urbana, IL 61801

Within one week of receipt, NCTE will send an email confirming that the nomination has been received. Nominating affiliates are asked to contact the SSSC Administrative Liaison if they have not received this confirmation.

Have questions or comments,
email us today!


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2015 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram