National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Middle Level Section Steering Committee

The Middle Level Section Steering Committee (MLSSC) members are elected each year to a four-year term. The Chair is elected from within the MLSSC to a two-year term and serves on the NCTE Executive Committee representing the interests of the middle level section membership. 

Learn more through the MLSSC Annual Report and Member Activities/Responsibilities.

  • Christopher LehmanChristopher Lehman, Chair
    The Educator Collaborative
    Astoria, NY

    James BlasingameJames Blasingame
    Arizona State University
    Tempe, AZ

  • Frances ChamberlainFrances Lin
    Tracy, CA

  • Shanetia ClarkShanetia Clark
    Salisbury University
    Salisbury, MD

  • Jason GriffithJason Griffith
    Arizona State University
    Tempe, AZ

  • Amy Gutierrez BakerAmy Gutierrez Baker
    West Jefferson Middle School
    Conifer, CO

  • Margaret HaleMargaret Hale
    University of Houston
    Houston, TX
  • Justin StyglesJustin Stygles
    Rowe Elementary School
    Norway, ME








Past MLSSC Members


Questions or comments for the Steering Committee
can be emailed to


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2019 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts