National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Elementary Section Steering Committee - Previous Revision

The Elementary Section Steering Committee (ESSC) is responsible for the governance of NCTE's Elementary Section membership.  The ESSC members are elected each year to a four-year term.   The Chair and Assistant Chair are elected from the ESSC and also serve on the NCTE Executive Committee representing the interests of the elementary section membership.   

Mission Statement

The Elementary Section Steering Committee of NCTE is committed to the pursuit of justice and equality.  We believe that in an open democratic society we cannot argue for democracy and humanity unless we create for our children a more just and caring world.  To this end we are dedicated to the support and development of emancipatory pedagogies that counter official policies and mandates that narrow the possibilities for the teaching of the language arts in public schools.  We believe that it is essential that we resist any attempt that is made to separate school based language arts programs from the socio-cultural realities of children’s everyday lives.  Our task is to support the work of teachers as they work closely with their students and their families to build classrooms where everyone has an opportunity to participate in the conversation with a renewed consciousness of worth and possibility of their own language use and the literacies that they share.             ---ESSC, Spring 2000

Franki SibbersonChair (2006-08)
Franki Sibberson

Albert Chapman Elementary School
Powell, OH 


Susi LongAssistant Chair (2006-08)
Susi Long
University of South CarolinaColumbia, SC 


Linda CraftonLinda Crafton (2004-08)
University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Kenosha, WI 


Debra GoodmanDebra Goodman (2005-09)
Hofstra University
Hempstead, NY




Nancy JohnsonNancy Johnson (2005-09)
Western Washington University
Bellingham, WA

Barbara LehmanBarbara Lehman (2006-10)
Ohio State University-Mansfield
Mansfield, OH


Frank ChikiFrank Chiki (2007-11)
Double Eagle Elementary
Albuquerque, NM

Katie Wood RayKatie Wood Ray (2006-10)
Waynesville, NC  


Rebecca McCrawElementary Rep-at-Large (2007-09)
Rebecca McCraw
Mary Bramlett Elementary
Gaffney, SC

Language ArtsLanguage Arts Editors
Patricia Enciso
Laurie Katz
Barbara Kiefer
Detra Price-Dennis
Melissa Wilson
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH

NCTE Administrative Liaison
Debbie Zagorski  

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Click here to talk with the leadership


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts