National Council of Teachers of English Logo

College Section Steering Committee - Previous Revision

The College Section Steering Committee (CSSC) is responsible for the governance of NCTE's College Section membership.  The CSSC members are elected each year to a four-year term.   The Chair and Assistant Chair are elected from within the CSSC and the chair also represent the interests of the college section membership by serving on the NCTE Executive Committee


College Section Steering Committee Members

Patricia Dunn, Chair 2009-2013
Stony Brook University, New York 
Patricia's book, Grammar Rants

Beth ChevezBeth L. Brunk-Chevez, Assistant Chair 2009-2013
Univeristy of Texas @ El Paso




Freddy ThomasFreddy Thomas, 2009-2013
Virginia State University

Chitralekha Duttagupta

Chitralekha Duttagupta 2009-2013
Utah Valley University




Margaret Price, 2010-2014
Spelman College, Atlanta, GA

(not pictured) Bruce Horner, 2011-2015
University of Louisville, Kentucky



 R. Joseph Rodguez, (2011-2015)

The University of Texas, Austin

J. Schilb


John Schilb, 2005-2012
Editor, College English,
Indiana University, Bloomington




J. SommersJeff Sommers, 2005-2016
Editor, TETYC
Miami University, Middletown 

 Alexis Nelson

Alexis Nelson, 2009-2013
TYCA Representative
Spokane Falls Community College, Washington




Beatrice Mendez Newman, 2008-2012
College Forum Representative
University of Texas-Pan American 

(not pictured) Kelly Ritter, Incoming College English Editor
July 2012-June 2017
University of North Carolina, Greensboro


LuMing Mao 2011-2015
Miami University




 F. MannFelisa Mann

Felisa MannAdministrative Liaison
800-369-6283 x3607



Do you have a question for a member of the College Section Steering Committee? If so, please feel free to contact NCTE and your question will be answered as soon as possible.   

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts