National Council of Teachers of English Logo

NCTE Richard C. Ohmann Outstanding Article in College English Award

2017 Winner

Rachel C. Jackson, University of Oklahoma, Norman, for “Resisting Relocation: Placing Leadership on Decolonized Indigenous Landscapes,” May 2017.
The selection committee found Jackson’s article to be timely and illuminating for many audiences in the current context. Jackson presents a thoughtful analysis on the impacts of story as a rhetorical practice to reclaim the landscapes of Cherokee ancestors. Through her discussion on decolonial story tactics, Jackson offers a critical investigation of space, place, and the people who claim local knowledge. Jackson helps readers both inside and outside the academy to appreciate the power of story and landscapes among Indigenous communities, reminding us that we bring “critical relationships to Indigenous communities into our institutions that uniquely position us to work with those communities in a way that implements decolonization because we represent them” (509). Jackson’s important work not only addresses aspects of leadership on decolonized landscapes, but also theorizes a way forward for building sustaining relationships between stories, people, landscapes, and languages. The committee recognizes this work for its lasting impression on the field, and for future researchers.

Rachel C. JacksonDr. Rachel C. Jackson is a lecturer with the University of Oklahoma Expository Writing Program. Her publications include “Locating Oklahoma: Critical Regionalism and Transrhetorical Analysis in the Composition Classroom” (CCC, December 2014) and “The People Who Live Here: Localizing Transrhetorical Texts in Gl/Oklahoma Classrooms” (in Reworking English in Rhetoric and Composition, SIUP, 2014). Her current book project uses qualitative methodologies and storytelling to reexamine the value and resistant power of local rhetorics, particularly when writing teachers extend those rhetorics into the writing classroom. The book uses cultural theory to assert this as one way the field of rhetoric and composition can contribute to the goal of decolonization, particularly in Indigenous landscapes. Jackson is also the recipient of the 2017 James Berlin Memorial Outstanding Dissertation Award from NCTE’s Conference on College Composition and Communication.

2017 Award Committee:
Steven Alvarez, Chair, University of Kentucky, Lexington
Dànielle DeVoss, Michigan State University, East Lansing
Laura Gonzalez
Steve Lamos, University of Colorado, Boulder
Peter Moe, Seattle Pacific University, Washington
Clancy Ratliff, University of Louisiana, Lafayette

NCTE Annual ConventionThe awards presentation will be held at the College Celebration on Friday, November 17 during the NCTE Annual Convention in St. Louis, Missouri.




Nominations are not accepted for this award.

Purpose:  The Richard Ohmann Award recognizes an outstanding refereed article in the journal College English that makes the most significant contribution to the field of English studies.

Eligibility:  Articles to be considered will be chosen from the College English volume year, September through July in the year prior to selection.

Award Criteria:  The award will recognize an outstanding refereed article in the past volume year of College English that makes the most significant contribution to scholarship or research, or theory or pedagogy, in English Studies.

College EnglishAward Specifics:  The Ohmann Award Committee chair presents the award at the College Celebration during the NCTE Annual Convention. The winner receives complimentary registration, a plaque, and $200 honorarium.

Ohmann Award winning articles offer an innovative, well-researched inquiry regarding an exigent problem, issue, or debate in a manner that is relevant and accessible to a wide range of College English readers. The award is given in the name of Richard Ohmann, landmark editor of College English from 1966 to 1978. The first award was given for the 2000-2001 issues of the journal.

Judging:  The Ohmann Award Committee determines the winner based upon articles meeting the criteria by August 15. The editor(s) of College English are not a part of the award selection committee.

Past Winners:  Full List of Past Winners

2017:  Rachel C. Jackson, “Resisting Relocation: Placing Leadership on Decolonized Indigenous Landscapes,” May 2017

2016:  Steve Lamos, “Toward Job Security for Teaching-Track Composition Faculty: Recognizing and Rewarding Affective-Labor-in-Space,” March 2016.

2015:  Steph Ceraso, “(Re)Educating the Senses: Multimodal Listening, Bodily Learning, and the Composition of Sonic Experiences,” College English, November 2014.

2014:  Jim Ridolfo, "Delivering Textual Diaspora: Building Digital Cultural Repositories as Rhetoric Research,” College English, November 2013.

2013:  Bump Halbritter and Julie Lindquist, "Time, Lives, and Videotape: Operationalizing Discovery in Scenes of Literacy Sponsorship," College English, November 2012.

2012:  Amy Wan, “In the Name of Citizenship: The Writing Classroom and the Promise of Citizenship,” College English, September 2011.



Have questions or comments,
email us today!

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram