National Council of Teachers of English Logo

David H. Russell Award for Distinguished Research in the Teaching of English

Nomination Deadline:  March 1

Purpose:  This award honors an outstanding work of scholarship or research in language, literature, rhetoric, or pedagogy and learning.

Eligibility:  Any work or works of scholarship or research in language, literature, rhetoric, or pedagogy and learning published during the previous five-year period prior to January 1 of the year of the award. If an individual or company nominates more than three books, only the first three of its nominations to be received will be considered.

Award Criteria:  Any published research (a work or works by the same author or authors) in language, literature, rhetoric, teaching procedures, or cognitive processes that may sharpen the teaching or the content of English at any instructional level. Publication must be available in English. Commercially published instructional materials are not eligible for consideration. Reports of doctoral studies, while not precluded from consideration for the Russell Award, are typically considered as part of NCTE’s separate "Promising Researcher" program.

Award Specifics:  The award recipient is announced in November each year and honored at the NCTE Annual Convention with a plaque and honorarium. 

The award was established in 1963 as the Distinguished Research Award and renamed in 1966 to honor the Council’s late president David H. Russell.

Deadline:  Nomination materials must be postmarked no later than March 1 and sent to or by postal mail to NCTE David H. Russell Award, 1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL  61801-1096.

Nominations should include:

  • A nomination letter with your name, phone, email, author, title, publisher, date of publication, and one paragraph indicating your reasons for nominating the work.
  • Four copies of the publication for distribution to the Selection Committee, or if that is not possible, provide full bibliographic information so that the Selection Committee will encounter no difficulty in locating the publication nominated.

NOTE:  Publications sent without supporting documents will not be considered.

Judging:  The Selection Committee determines the winner based upon the nominations meeting the criteria each year. The Selection Committee consists of three members, who serve three-year staggered terms. The chair of the committee shall be the member who has served longest. Each year, before the NCTE Annual Convention, the incumbent NCTE president shall appoint one member of the committee to replace the retiring member.

Past Winners:  Full List of Past Winners

2015:  Anne Haas Dyson, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Rewriting the Basics: Literacy Learning in Children’s Cultures (Teachers College Press, 2013)

2014:  David E. Kirkland, Michigan State University, East Lansing, A Search Past Silence: The Literacy of Young Black Men (Teachers College Press, 2013)

2013:  Peter Smagorinsky, University of Georgia, Athens, Vygotsky and Literacy Research: A Methodological Framework (Boston, 2011)

2012:  Judith A. Langer, University of Albany, Albany, New York, Envisioning Knowledge: Building Literacy in the Academic Literacies (Teachers College Press, 2011)

2011:  Neal Lerner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, The Idea of a Writing Laboratory (Southern Illinois University Press, 2009)

2010:  Marc Lamont Hill, Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, Beats, Rhymes, and Classroom Life: Hip-Hop Pedagogy and the Politics of Identity (Teachers College press, 2009)

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2016 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram