National Council of Teachers of English Logo
Centennial Banner

Blast from the Past: We've Come A Long Way

Did you know that NCTE elected its first woman president in 1929? She was Rewey Belle Inglis, and she opened the door for many other women. Inglis was succeeded in 1930 by Ruth Mary Weeks; in 1932 by Stella S. Center; in 1936 by Dora V. Smith; and in 1939 by Essie Chamberlain.

There have been many other women presidents since 1939:

1944    Angela Broening
1946    Helene W. Hartley
1949    Marion C. Sheridan
1954    Lou LaBrant
1956    Luella B. Cook
1957    Helen K. Mackintosh
1960    Ruth G. Strickland
1966    Muriel Crosby
1972    Virginia M. Reid
1974    Margaret Early
1976    Charlotte Huck
1977    Charlotte Brooks
1978    Marjorie Farmer
1979    Yetta Goodman
1985    Sheila Fitzgerald
1987    Nancy S. McHugh
1988    Julie M. Jensen
1989    Janet Emig
1990    Ruth K.J. Cline
1991    Shirley Haley-James
1994    Janie Hydrick
1995    Miriam Chaplin
1996    Beverly Ann Chin
1997    Carol Avery
1999    Joan Naomi Steiner
2001    Anne Ruggles Gere
2002    Leila Christenbury
2004    Patricia Lambert Stock
2006    Kyoko Sato
2007    Joanne Yatvin
2008    Kathleen Blake Yancey


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2019 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts