National Council of Teachers of English Logo

CEL State Liaisons - Previous Revision

Featured State Liaison:  Steve Peha, North Carolina, CEL member:

"Attending my first CEL conference this year was a delight. Getting to speak at the conference was an honor. But meeting the people was truly a special experience that I don’t think I’ve ever had before at a professional conference. I had for years attended NCTE but only this year discovered CEL. While NCTE has always been an interesting conference for me, I built much deep connections with CEL members on things that really matter like values, beliefs, large scale change, school culture, and technology. Everyone I met at CEL seemed deeply involved with true instructional leadership and the furtherance of our profession. All conferences offer a few valuable programs. But the value at CEL is in the people who attend and the time we have to spend together. Of the many conferences I attended in 2013, CEL was the most enjoyable, the most illuminating, and the most inspiring."


Steve Peha
Founder, Teaching That Makes Sense



CEL State Liaisons

January 2014

State

Name

Email

Alabama

Robin Bynum

rbynum@troy.edu

Arkansas

Karen Conn Mitcham

Kbev55@gmail.com

Connecticut

Maydie Bombart

bombart@csdnb,org

Washington D.C.

Primas, Elizabeth

eprimas@friendshipschools.org

Georgia

Padilla, David

padilla73@gmail.com

Hawaii

Wanda Porter

wandrport@hawaiiantel.net

Illinois

McCulley, Tom

Tom. mcculley@heartland.edu

Illinois

Schwarze, Janice

jschwarze@csd99.org

Indiana

Jones, Darolyn

ljones2@bsu.edu

Louisiana

Whealdon, Whitney

Whitney.Whealdon@la.gov

Maryland

Janetta Jayman

JJJAYMA@carrollk12.org

Missouri

Bono, Nina

See EC Directory

Missouri

Skeeters, Keri

keriskeeters@wentzville.k12.mo.us

Nebraska

Quinlan, Ann Marie

Amquinlan33@gmail.com

New Jersey

Recine, Tracy

trecine@pascack.k12.nj.us

New Jersey

Weinthal, Edie

eweinthal@passack.k12.nj.us

North Carolina

Peha, Steve

steve@stevepeha.com

Pennsylvania

Blystone, Jane

jblystone@mercyhurst.edu

Texas

Sterling, Genny

rgsterling@bisd.us

Utah

Hultberg, Gordon

ghgordon049@gmail.com

Virginia

Bey, Doris

dbey@richmond.k12.va.us

Washington, DC

Taylor, Alison Blair

alisoneduservices@gmail.com

Wisconsin

Nelson, Katherine

nelson@ahs.k12.wi.us

Wisconsin

Scott, Tom

Tscott2@uwm.edu

Wyoming

Delbridge, Karen

delbridgek@laramie1.org


CEL State Liaison Program

Challenging economic times compel us to work efficiently, complementing one another’s efforts and sharing resources. CEL strives to maintain close ties to state affiliates and CEL members through the work of state level CEL Liaisons. 
 
CEL State Liaisons will

  • promote CEL at state/regional affiliate functions;
  • make personal contacts with state leaders, encouraging them to join CEL;
  • facilitate communication and cooperation between CEL and leaders of state affiliates;
  • provide updates on CEL and obtain information about issues and trends that state affiliates are facing; and
  • provide an annual report submitted to the CEL Associate Chair and shared with other state liaisons at the annual meeting.

Logistics

  • The CEL Associate Chair and a CEL member appointed by the Chair will coordinate this initiative.
  • The CEL Associate Chair will oversee this program.
  • Selection of the liaisons will be the responsibility of the Coordinators.
  • Large states and populous states may have multiple liaisons.
  • The length of term of the liaison(s) is indefinite.
  • Coordinators will hold a meeting of the liaisons at the CEL Annual Convention.
  • The Nominations Chair will also attend this meeting.

Qualification for CEL State Liaisons

  • active participation in CEL
  • connection to NCTE affiliate leaders or other state literacy leaders
  • willingness to serve

Benefits to the CEL State Liaisons

  • receive recognition at the convention;
  • be listed on the CEL website;
  • receive a certificate of commendation;
  • receive a letter of commendation recognizing the liaison’s contribution to CEL.

 

Interested in becoming a CEL State Liaison? 
email us today!

 

Document and Site Resources

Related Search Terms

Copyright

Copyright © 1998-2014 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram