National Council of Teachers of English Logo

CEL Kent Williamson Exemplary Leader Award

Penny Kittle, 2015 Exemplary Leader
Of this year's recipient, the CEL awards committee wrote: "Penny Kittle's innumerable contributions at the local, regional, national, and international levels stand as a testament to her commitment to literacy leadership and its role in providing excellence in instruction to students at all levels. Amongst the numerous acknowledgements of her accomplishments, nominators also noted Ms. Kittle's willingness to present at professional conferences, her prolific contributions to professional materials in the field, and, most importantly, her generous support of teachers and leaders. She does all this work while also teaching at both the university and high school levels. In addition, her interest in collaboration has led CEL leaders to describe her as one who epitomizes the heart of CEL – collaborating with others and sharing knowledge on a regular basis. For this reason and so many more, CEL is honored to recognize Penny Kittle by awarding her with the CEL’s 2015 Kent Williamson Exemplary Leader Award."

Penny will be presented with the CEL Kent Williamson Exemplary Leader Award during the NCTE Annual Convention in Minneapolis, MN on Sunday, November 22, 2015, at the CEL Sunday Luncheon.

About Penny Kittle
Penny Kittle teaches high school English and is the director of new teacher mentoring at Kennett High School in North Conway, NH. She teaches in the alternative night school for adult students and in the Summer Literacy Institutes at the University of New Hampshire.

She travels across the U.S. and Canada (and once in awhile even farther) speaking to teachers about empowering students through independence in literacy. She believes in curiosity, engagement, and deep thinking in schools for both students and their teachers. Penny stands on the shoulders of her mentors, the Dons (Murray & Graves), and the Toms (Newkirk & Romano), in her belief that intentional teaching in a reading and writing workshop brings the greatest student investment and learning in a classroom.

She is the author of five books, including Book Love and Write Beside Them, which won the James N. Britton Award from NCTE in 2009. She edited a collection of Donald Graves’ work with Tom Newkirk called Children Want to Write: Donald Graves and the Revolution in Children’s Writing. Her long friendship with Don led to co-authoring Inside Writing and My Quick Writes in 2005. She is also the author of two books of memoir, The Greatest Catch: A Life in Teaching and Public Teaching: One Kid at a Time. Penny was a columnist for Voices from the Middle for six years. 

In 2012 Penny and her husband founded The Book Love Foundation to award classroom libraries to teachers who aim instruction towards increasing joy in reading in middle and high school students. This year they will give away their 25th library.

Award Criteria

The CEL Kent Williamson Exemplary Leader Award is given annually to an NCTE member who is an outstanding English language arts educator and leader. NCTE and CEL members nominate an exceptional leader who has had an impact on the profession through ONE or MORE of the following: 

  • work that has focused on exceptional teaching and/or leadership practices (e.g., building effective department, grade level, or building teams; developing curriculum or processes for practicing ELA educators; or mentoring)
  • contributions to the profession through involvement at both the local and national levels
  • presentations, workshops, and publications that have had an impact upon school leaders

Candidates not selected for the year in which they are nominated will receive consideration for the next two years. 

Nomination Process
To nominate a candidate, please submit a nomination form. You must also email the candidate's curriculum vitae and at least two letters of recommendation to Heather Rocco by February 15, 2016 (extended from February 1).

The recipient receives an engraved plaque, CEL Luncheon ticket, a year's membership in CEL, and, the gift of a one year CEL membership to present to a colleague. The recipient may also be invited to serve as the luncheon speaker in a later year or to speak at the CEL Convention.


Past Recipients

2015:  Penny Kittle, Kennett High School, North Conway, NH
2014:  Douglas B. Fisher, University of San Diego, CA
2013:  Rick Chambers, Ontario College of Teachers, Toronto, ON, Canada
2012:  Harvey “Smokey” Daniels, National Louis University, Chicago, IL
2011:  Kylene Beers, Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, NY
2010:  Joan Kaywell, University of South Florida, Tampa
2009:  Carolyn Phipps, St. Mary’s Episcopal School, Memphis, TN
2008:  Louann Reid, Colorado State University, Fort Collins
2007:  Jim Mahoney, The College of New Jersey, Ewing
2006:  Jim Strickland, Slippery Rock University in Slippery Rock, PA
2005:  June Langford Berkley, Worthington, OH
2004:  Robert E. Probst, Georgia State University, Athens
2003:  George B. Shea, Jr., Belleville West High School, Belleville, IL
2002:  V. Paula Hodges, Forgan High School, Forgan, OK
2001:  Wendell Schwartz, Adlai Stevenson High School, Lincolnshire, IL
2000:  Jim Burke, Burlingame High School, Burlingame, CA

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2016 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram