National Council of Teachers of English Logo
CEE Logo

Meet the CEE Leaders - Previous Revision

The Conference on English Education is governed by an Executive Committee made up of elected CEE members as described in the CEE Constitution and Bylaws.  Click here for a listing of CEE Executive Committee members from 1989 to the present.  Click here if you are interested in finding out how you can become involved in the CEE Executive Committee.

2011-2012 CEE Executive Committee


  • Marshall George, Chair
    Fordham University
    New York, NY
    Office: (212) 636-7176 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (212) 636-7176 end_of_the_skype_highlighting
    Fax: (212) 636-6452
  • Louann Reid, Vice Chair
    Colorado State University
    Fort Collins
    Office: (970) 491-5264 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (970) 491-5264 end_of_the_skype_highlighting
  • Dawn Latta Kirby,
    Recording Secretary
    Kennesaw State University
    Kennesaw, GA
    Office: (678) 797-2243 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (678) 797-2243 end_of_the_skype_highlighting


Steven T. Bickmore
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA
Office: (225)578-2260

Deborah Bieler
University of Delaware
Newark, DE
Office: (302)831-1973

Jamal Cooks
San Francisco State University, CA
Office: (415) 338-2065

Louisiana State UniversityBaton Rouge, LAOffice: (225)578-2260(2012-2016)University of DelawareNewark, DEOffice: (302)831-1973(2010-2014)San Francisco State University, CAOffice: (415) 338-2065

Cathy Fleischer
Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti 
Office: (734) 487-0151 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (734) 487-0151 end_of_the_skype_highlighting

Sarah Warshauer Freedman
University of California Berkeley
Office: (210) 642-0746 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (210) 642-0746 end_of_the_skype_highlighting

Tara Star Johnson
Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
Office: (765) 496-1220 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (765) 496-1220 end_of_the_skype_highlighting

David E. Kirkland
Michigan State University, East Lansing
Office: (517) 884-3884 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (517) 884-3884 end_of_the_skype_highlighting

sj Miller
University of Missouri
Kansas City
Office: (816) 235-2467 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (816) 235-2467 end_of_the_skype_highlighting

Luke Rodesiler, CEE Graduate Student Affiliate Representative
University of Florida, Gainesville

Leslie S. Rush, Coeditor, English Education
University of Wyoming, Laramie
Office: (307) 766-2163 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (307) 766-2163 end_of_the_skype_highlighting

Lisa Scherff, Coeditor, English Education
Florida State University, Tallahassee
Office: (850) 644-8476 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (850) 644-8476 end_of_the_skype_highlighting

Melanie Shoffner
Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
Office: (765) 494-3763 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting FREE (765) 494-3763 end_of_the_skype_highlighting

Robert Tremmel
Iowa State University, Ames

Leah Zuidema
Dordt College, Sioux Center, IA
Office: 712) 722-6328

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts