Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo



2016 Election Results Announced

Congratulations to these CCCC members elected to leadership positions!

Assistant Chair:        
Asao B. Inoue, University of Washington Tacoma




Executive Committee:
Kristin Arola, Washington State University
Sheila Carter-Tod, Virginia Tech
Christine Peters Cucciarre, University of Delaware
Bump Halbritter, Michigan State University
Aja Y. Martinez, State University of New York at Binghamton
Michelle Bachelor Robinson, University of Alabama
Christine Tulley, University of Findlay

2016-2017 Nominating Committee:    
Isabel Baca, University of Texas at El Paso
M. Melissa Elston, Northwest Missouri State University
Candace Epps-Robertson, Old Dominion University
Lori Ostergaard, Oakland University
Christie Toth, University of Utah**

**The Chair of the Nominating Committee is the person elected with the greatest number of votes. We are pleased to have Christie Toth serving in this capacity.

Special thanks to the members of the 2015-2016 CCCC Nominating Committee: Staci M. Perryman-Clark, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Chair; Timothy R. Amidon, Colorado State University, Ft. Collins; Christina V. Cedillo, Northeastern State University, Tahlequah, Oklahoma; Mike Edwards, Washington State University, Pullman; and Erika Lindemann, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.


2016 Election: Call for Nominations

The 2016 CCCC Nominating Committee invites nominations for the posts of CCCC Assistant ChairExecutive Committee member (seven members), and 2017 Nominating Committee (five members). The Nominating Committee seeks to identify CCCC members who are committed to the organization and willing to do its work. The post of Assistant Chair involves a four-year commitment, beginning in December 2016. During the first year of the term, the Assistant Chair also serves as Program Chair for the 2018 CCCC Convention. He or she becomes Associate Chair (December 2017), Chair (December 2018), and Immediate Past Chair (December 2019). Members of the Executive Committee are expected to make a three-year commitment to serving CCCC, beginning in December 2016. The Executive Committee meets for a full day immediately prior to the CCCC Annual Convention in the spring as well as for two days at the NCTE Annual Convention in the fall. Executive Committee and Nominating Committee members are chosen to represent a mix of institutions and regions. The officers and Executive Committee are committed to increased recruitment, representation, and participation of members of historically underrepresented groups in every aspect of the committee’s work as well as throughout its activities. In addition, CCCC encourages the nomination of contingent, adjunct, or part-time faculty. On the 2016 ballot, one elected position for the Executive Committee will be open to a contingent, adjunct, or part-time faculty member.

Please send nominations, with biographical information, by March 11, 2016, via email to Members and previous candidates are encouraged to nominate themselves.

2015 CCCC Election Results


Election Process

CCCC elects its leaders through a ballot mailed to the entire CCCC membership.  The CCCC Nominating Committee (click here for a listing of Nominating Committee members from 1994 to the present) is elected annually through this process and serves for one year.  The elected Nominating Committee members (as well as the Immediate and Senior Past Chairs of CCCC, who also serve on the nominating committee) select a slate of candidates from nominations, which may be made by any CCCC member.  This slate of candidates is contacted, their consent to run obtained, and an election held during the summer to determine who will replace the Assistant Chair (for a four-year term, ascending to Associate Chair, Chair, and Past Chair), the outgoing members of the CCCC Executive Committee, the CCCC Nominating Committee, and the CCCC Secretary (every four years).

Elected Offices

Click on a link below for specific information about each of the CCCC elected offices:

Assistant Chair (to serve through the CCCC Chairs' Rotation)

CCCC Executive Committee

CCCC Nominating Committee

CCCC Secretary


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms

Join CCCC today!


Copyright © 1998-2016 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts