Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo

Committee on Assessment (November 2016) - Previous Revision

November 2010 Update

Watch for a flyer or bookmark at CCCC 2011 listing all assessment-related sessions! The Assessment Committee will review the program in advance of the conference and create a guide to help attendees find sessions related to assessment. We will leave them on tables in the program pick-up area and distribute them in assessment-related sessions.

Committee Members

Susanmarie Harrington, Chair 
Bob Broad
Heidi Estrem
Alan Hutchison
Marisa Klages
Suzanne Labadie  
Patricia Lynne
Les Perelman
Amy Weaver

Committee Charge

In recognition of Assessment as an ongoing and crucial part of the teaching of composition, the CCCC Assessment Committee is charged with serving to promote and preserve ethical writing assessment that works for the good of students, teachers, and the profession by:

Charge 1:Keep abreast of changes in assessment of writing policies and computer-graded essay practices that affect the profession, as well as keeping track of PARCC and Smarter Balance proposed assessments for the Common Core Standards at the federal level

Charge 2: Work with the CCCC Officers, the MemberWeb Editor, and NCTE staff to disseminate the 2009 Position Statement on Assessment

Charge 3: Supplementing the position statement with a bibliography and links to related position statements and explanation of terms.

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2016 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts