Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo

CCCC Tribal College Faculty Fellowship - Previous Revision

The Tribal College Faculty Fellowship offers financial aid to selected faculty members currently working at tribally controlled colleges to attend the Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) April 6-9, 2011 in Atlanta, Georgia. We are offering two Tribal College Faculty Fellowships in the amount of $750 each.

Featuring over 500 sessions focusing on teaching practices, writing and literacy programs, language research, history, theory, information technologies, and professional and technical communication, the annual CCCC meeting provides a forum for thinking, learning, networking, and presenting research on the teaching and learning of writing.

With this Fellowship, CCCC hopes to create new opportunities for Tribal College Faculty members to become involved in CCCC and for CCCC to carry out its mission of serving as a truly representative national advocate for language and literacy education.

How to Apply
The deadline for the 2011 award has been extended to December 17, 2010. Please submit an application letter (on institutional letterhead) describing:

  • Who you are as a teacher and what you teach at your tribal college
  • What your research interests are
  • What you hope to gain from the experience of attending CCCC (how it could help you in your teaching or research)

Send your application letter to:
CCCC Administrative Liaison, NCTE, 1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL 61801 or

Selection Criteria
A selection committee including American Indian Caucus members will review applications for the Tribal College Faculty Fellowship. Fellowship awards will be based on overall quality of the application letter.

You do not need to present at CCCC in order to qualify for this award.

For More Information…
Visit the CCCC Convention website, or contact the CCCC Administrative Liaison at

Tribal College Faculty Fellows

Christie Cooke, Haskell Indian Nations University, Lawrence, Kansas
Jennifer Ann Owens, Little Big Horn College, Crow Agency, Montana

Sara Knight, College of Menominee Nation, Keshena, Wisconsin
Ryan Winn, College of Menominee Nation, Keshena, Wisconsin

Nathan Jenkins, Haskell Indian Nations University

Geselle Coe, Tohono O'Odham Community College

Ron Carpenter, Turtle Mountain Community College
Brian Tosky, College of Menominee Nation

Priscilla A. Fairbanks, Leech Lake Tribal College
Steven King, Sisseton-Wahpeton College
Laurie Koepplin, Little Big Horn College
Patrick J. Shields, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms

Join CCCC today!
Learn more about the CCCC Convention


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts