National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Member Corner

2015 Calendar of Events



NCTE Annual Convention Events 2015 - Minneapolis, MN

Annual Cultural Celebration

hosted by the Black and Latino Caucuses
Friday, November 20
7:15 pm – 9:00 pm
Location: Minneapolis; Lounge A
Join us for a celebration of our cultural legacy and future!

Black Caucus Executive Committee Meeting (for Caucus EC Members Only)
Friday, November 20
5:00 – 6:30 pm
Location: Minneapolis; Room: TBD

Black Caucus Open Forum Meeting (Public)
Saturday, November 21
11:00 am – 12:15 pm
Location: Minneapolis; Room: M100G

The National African American Read-In
February 2015
One of the many sponsored projects of the Black Caucus is the highly successful African American Read-In.  Click here to learn how you can get involved!



Advancement of People of Color Leadership Award
The NCTE Advancement of People of Color Leadership Award (APCL) established in 2007 and first presented in 2008 recognizes a person of color who has made a significant contribution to NCTE and the development of our professional community.

Award Recipients

2014,  Keith Gilyard, Penn State University
2013,  Vivian Vasquez, American University
2012,  Geneva Smitherman, Michigan State University
2011,  James L. Hill, Albany State University, Georgia
2010,  Maria Franquiz, University of Texas, Austin
2009,  Arnetha Ball, Stanford University, Stanford, CA
2008,  Victor Villanueva, Washington State University, Pullman

Barksdale Turner Scholarship in African American/Black Literature (apply by Sept. 28th)
The Barksdale-Turner Scholarship was established (1993) by the Black Caucus of NCTE and CCCC in recognition of Richard K. Barksdale and Darwin T. Turner, two leading scholars, critics, and teachers in the field of African American/Black Literature.  The scholarship is intended to support the continued education of an African American student who is an English major with a demonstrated interest in African American/Black literature.  The student must plan to teach.

Scholarship Recipients

2014, Shayla Atkins, Howard University
2013, Courtney Walton
2011, Kendra Mitchell

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram