National Council of Teachers of English Logo

James R. Squire Award


The James R. Squire Award, formally called the NCTE Executive Committee Award was established in 1967.  In 1999, the Executive Committee renamed the award to honor former Executive Secretary, James R. Squire  for his contributions to NCTE and the profession at large. 


This award is given by the Executive Committee in recognition of outstanding service, not only to the stature and development of NCTE and the discipline which it represents, but also to the profession of education as a whole, internationally as well as nationally. 



The James R. Squire Award is a special award given to an NCTE member who has had a transforming influence and has made a lasting intellectual contribution to the profession.  


The NCTE James R. Squire Award does not need to be awarded each year. This award should be bestowed only when the subcommittee decides that nominations warrant presentation of the award.   


Selection Committee

The selection committee will consist of the outgoing Past President and a committee of three Past Presidents of the Council appointed by the outgoing Past President. 


The James R. Squire award selection committee will select an award recipient and the Executive Committee will approve the committee’s selection at an Executive Committee meeting.    



2016: Arthur N. Applebee (posthumously) and Jerome C. Harste

2015: Kent D. Williamson (posthumously)
2014: Yetta M. Goodman

2013: Rudine Sims Bishop
2012: Miles Myers
2011: George Hillocks Jr.
2010: Mike Rose
2009: Frank Smith

2008: Donald H. Graves 

2007: Kenneth S. Goodman

2006: Janet Emig

2005: Geneva Smitherman

2004: Courtney Cazden

2003: Shirley Brice Heath

2002: Louise Rosenblatt

2001: Peter Elbow

1999: Edmund J. Farrell

1980: Robert F. Hogan

1974: John Gerber

1971: J. N. Hook

1967: James R. Squire

Document and Site Resources

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram