National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Distinguished Service Award


This award was established in 1950 as the W. Wilbur Hatfield Award and renamed the Distinguished Service Award in 1969. The award recognizes a person or persons who have exhibited valuable professional service to the profession, scholarly or academic distinction, distinctive use of the language, and excellence in teaching.


Criteria for the Award

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is given to a person (or persons), either volunteer or staff, who have exhibited valuable professional service (within the Council and outside) including scholarly or academic distinction at any level, distinguished use of language, and/or excellence in teaching.  These criteria are good measures of acceptable candidates and help to assure that recipients have a wide range of "service" that they provide to the profession. Nominations should be submitted on an individual basis, not by a group or on behalf of constituent groups (conferences, affiliates, assemblies, committees, etc)..


The NCTE Distinguished Service Award does not need to be awarded each year.  This award should be bestowed only when the committee decides that nominations warrant presentation of the award.  This award may be given posthumously.


Deadline for 2017 DSA award nominations is June 1, 2017.

Anna J. Small Roseboro


Anna J. Small Roseboro Is the 2016 Distinguished Service Award Recipient


Anna has been involved in the Early Career Educator of Color Leadership Award since its inauguration in 2008, mentoring and supporting new members into the work of NCTE. In addition, Anna has been a member of the NCTE Secondary Section Steering Committee, the CEL Executive Committee, and many NCTE committees.

From the very strong letters of support offering specific examples of Anna’s suitability, it’s clear that she exemplifies the full criteria for the award in exceedingly positive ways: service to NCTE in various capacities, service to the teaching profession at large, scholarly accomplishment in multiple venues, and excellence in teaching at various levels. In addition, she has proven herself to be a dedicated mentor and support for teachers at all stages of their careers, further exemplifying her dedicated and distinguished service to NCTE and the profession.


Recent Recipients


2015     Kent D. Williamson, NCTE, Urbana, IL (posthumously)

2014     Sharon H. Chaney, Union University, Hendersonville, TN

2013     Jerome C. Harste, Indiana University, Bloomington

2012     Beverly Ann Chin, University of Montana, Missoula

2011     Erika Lindemann, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

2010     Patricia Lambert Stock, Michigan State University, East Lansing



Complete List of Past Recipients


Award Selection

The DSA Committee will select an award recipient from nominations solicited from the Board of Director (BOD).  The Executive Committee will approve the committee’s selection.  The BOD will affirm the final selection.  


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram