National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Awards for Service to Profession and Organization - Previous Revision

NCTE presents several awards to honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of literacy, to the field of education, or to the organization.  Select from the links below to learn about each award.

David H. Russell Award 
This award recognizes published research in language, literature, rhetoric, teaching procedures, or cognitive processes that may sharpen the teaching or the content of English at any level.  
Distinguished Service Award
Given to a person or persons who have exhibited valuable professional service and excellence in teaching.  

James R. Squire Award
Honors an individual who has given outstanding service to NCTE and the profession of education as a whole. 
Literacy Award
Given to a public figure or group, outside the teaching profession, who has promoted literacy.
Media Literacy Award
This award will showcase NCTE members who have developed innovative approaches for integrating media analysis and composition into their instruction. 

Robert Shafer Memorial Award
This award will honor an educator or organization's membership who enrich international education.

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts