National Council of Teachers of English Logo

NCTE Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children

2017 Award Recipient: Marilyn Nelson

Marilyn NelsonMarilyn is professor emerita of English at the University of Connecticut, Storrs. Her books include My Seneca Village (namelos, 2015); How I Discovered Poetry (Dial Press, 2014); Faster Than Light: New and Selected Poems, 1996-2011 (Louisiana State University Press, 2012); The Cachoeira Tales, and Other Poems (Louisiana State University Press, 2005); The Fields of Praise: New and Selected Poems (Louisiana State University Press, 1997), which was a finalist for the 1998 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, the 1997 National Book Award, and the PEN Winship Award.

(photo credit Fran Funk 2009)

Learn more about Marilyn at

2017 Notable Poetry Books

2017 Notable Verse Novels

Notable Poetry Book Lists:  2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011

Poetry Book Collection
A collection of poetry books from all the winners of the NCTE Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children is sustained and preserved at the University of Minnesota Children's Literature Research Collections (CLRC) / Kerlan Collection at the Andersen Library.


Nomination are not accepted for this award.

NCTE Poetry Award

Purpose:  NCTE established the Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children in 1977 to honor a living American poet for his or her aggregate work for children ages 3–13. NCTE also recognizes and fosters excellence in children's poetry by encouraging its publication and by exploring ways to acquaint teachers and children with poetry through such means as publications, programs, and displays. 

Award Criteria: 

  • Literary Merit (art and craft of aggregate work--as poet or anthologist)
    Creating books of poetry that demonstrate imagination, authenticity of voice, evidence of a strong persona, and universality / timelessness are essential. In short, we're looking for a poet who creates poetry books that contain clean, spare lines; use language and form in fresh ways; surprise the reader by using syntax artistically; excite the reader's imagination with keen perceptions and sharp images; touch the reader's emotions.  A maker of word events is what we're looking for.
  • Poet's or Anthologist's Contributions
    Aggregate work, evident potential for growth and evolution in terms of craft, and excellence are considered.
  • Evolution of the Poet's or Anthologist's Work
    Technical and artistic development as evidenced in the poetry, evidence of risk, change, and artistic stamina, and evidence of different styles and modes of expression are considered.
  • Appeal to Children
    Although the appeal to children of a poet's or anthologist's work is an important consideration, the art and craft must be the primary criterion for evaluation.  Evidence of students' excitement for the poetry and evidence of childlike quality, yet poem's potential for stirring fresh insights and feelings should be apparent.

Award Specifics:  The award is presented in even years by the chair of the NCTE Poetry Committee at the Children's Book Awards Luncheon during the NCTE Annual Convention. The award recipient receives a plaque, is a featured speaker at the luncheon, and is invited to present at a poetry session during the NCTE Annual Convention.

The NCTE Poetry Committee gave the award annually until 1982 and every three years until 2009.  In 2008 the criteria was updated and time frame changed to every other year. The next award will be given in 2019.

Judging:  Members of the NCTE Poetry Committee determine the award recipient, host poetry sessions, meet during the NCTE Annual Convention, and promote the use of children's poetry books in the classroom.

Past Winners

NCTE Poets Spotlight Series by author Renee LaTulippe

Printable Poetry Flier 

2015:  Marilyn Singer
2013:  Joyce Sidman
2011:  J. Patrick Lewis
2009:  Lee Bennett Hopkins
2006:  Nikki Grimes
2003:  Mary Ann Hoberman
2000:  X.J. Kennedy
1997:  Eloise Greenfield
1994:  Barbara Juster Esbensen
1991:  Valerie Worth
1988:  Arnold Adoff
1985:  Lilian Moore
1982:  John Ciardi
1981:  Eve Merriam
1980:  Myra Cohn Livingston
1979:  Karla Kuskin
1978:  Aileen Fisher
1977:  David McCord


Donate to the NCTE Fund to help support and advance initiatives like the Award for Excellence in Poetry that expand opportunities for the teaching and learning of language arts!


Have questions or comments,
email us today!




Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

Another Jar of Tiny Stars
Living Voices


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram