National Council of Teachers of English Logo
2012 EcEOC Award Recipients

Early Career Educator of Color Leadership Award

 Congratulations to the 2014 Early Career Educator of Color Leadership Award Recipients!

Tamera Carter  - John H. Phillips Academy, AL
Tiffany Flowers - Georgia Perimeter College
Lorena German - Lawrence High School, MA
Elizabeth Isidro - Texas Tech University
Kelly Shin Kim - The Learning Center for the Deaf, MA
                            Alexis McGee - Texas State University                              

Previous Award Recipients

Attending the NCTE Convention for my first time, alone, was a daunting experience, but the time and information that NCTE shared with me each day made me feel like a welcome member of the NCTE community and helped me navigate through each day with ease. I look forward to being active within NCTE for many years to come. I had an amazing experience!
- Distinction Award Alumni, Jonathan McMullen


The specific purpose of this award is to provide early career teachers of color a national forum for professional collaboration and development by attending the NCTE convention (year one) and by presenting an NCTE convention session (year two). The general purpose is to support educators of color as they build accomplished teaching careers as active NCTE members.

Support level

• Programmatic—two years of support from a mentor who can help the scholarship recipient to plan his or her convention experience and to use NCTE resources to enhance professional growth; the opportunity to present or co-present at the NCTE convention (year two); an opportunity to collaborate with NCTE leaders; a plaque to recognize the recipient’s participation.

• Financial--round-trip airfare, complimentary registration at the NCTE convention, three nights lodging expenses, a luncheon ticket, and a $50 per diem for three days at two consecutive NCTE conventions. Note: The 2014 site is Washington, DC and Minneapolis, MN is the site for 2015.


Practicing pre-K to university level literacy educators of color who are in the first five years of a paid teaching career and who aspire to build a career in literacy education. People of color refers to historically underrepresented groups--African Americans, American Indians, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Pacific Islanders.

All award recipients must be an NCTE member at the time the award is accepted. The annual membership cost is $50.00 and recipients can join online.

Applications for 2015 will be accepted
in the spring of 2015. 

Support Letter for Applicants

Questions? Please contact


Previous Award Recipients 


I thoroughly enjoyed my experiences working with the ECEOC cohort. The NCTE staff, leadership, and veteran members were welcoming, and the spirit of support and collaboration was refreshing. Overall, the weekend was encouraging and empowering. My project is off to a great start.
- Jessica Mendes, 2012 Award Recipient




Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2015 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram