National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Awards for Journal Articles - Previous Revision

Alan C. Purves Award
The Alan C. Purves Award is presented annually to the author(s) of the Research in the Teaching of English article from the previous year's volume judged as likely to have the greatest impact on educational practice.  

CCCC Richard Braddock Award
Presented to the author of the outstanding article on writing or the teaching of writing in the CCCC journal, College Composition and Communication, during the year ending December 31 before the annual CCCC Convention.

CEL ELQ Best Article of the Year Award
Given for articles published in English Leadership Quarterly the previous calendar year. 
Edwin M. Hopkins Award
This award recognizes outstanding English Journal articles written by someone who does not qualify for the Paul and Kate Farmer Award. 
Paul and Kate Farmer Award
The Paul and Kate Farmer English Journal Writing Award Rules & Guidelines 
Richard Ohmann Award
The Richard Ohmann Award recognizes the outstanding refereed article in the past volume year of College English that makes the most significant contribution to scholarship, research, theory, or pedagogy in English studies.

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram