National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Awards for Journal Articles - Previous Revision

NCTE presents several awards honoring individuals who have written outstanding articles over the past year.  Select from the links below to learn more about each award.

Alan C. Purves Award
This award is presented annually to the author(s) of the Research in the Teaching of English article from the previous year's volume judged as likely to have the greatest impact on educational practice.  

Edwin M. Hopkins Award
This award recognizes outstanding English Journal articles written by someone who does not qualify for the Paul and Kate Farmer Award. 

Technical and Scientific Communication Awards
This award is given by the NCTE Committee on Technical and Scientific Communication for outstanding books and articles published by December 31 of the previous year.  Deadline May 1
Paul and Kate Farmer Award
This award is given annually to the authors of two articles written by teachers and published in English Journal

Richard Ohmann Award
This award recognizes outstanding articles published in College English.

Mark Reynolds TETYC Best Article Award
This award is granted each year to the author whose essay manifests excellence in the following areas: content currency, style, form, value to readers, and overall impression.


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy NEW! Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram