National Council of Teachers of English Logo

NCTE Richard W. Halle Award for Outstanding Middle Level Educator - Previous Revision

Richard W. HalleThe Richard W. Halle Award for Outstanding Middle Level Educator honors a junior high/middle level educator  who has worked to promote understanding of the developmental needs and characteristics of young adolescents, especially in the English language arts. Established in 1996 by the Junior High/Middle School Assembly, the Richard W. Halle Award became a Middle Level Section Award in February 2002.

The award is presented at the Middle Level Get-together during the NCTE Annual Convention each year. 


2011 Award Winner

Teri LesesneTeri Lesesne is the recipient of the 2011 NCTE Richard W. Halle Award for Outstanding Middle Level Educator.  Teri is a Professor at Sam Houston State University where she teaches graduate and undergraduate classes in young adult and children’s literature in the Department of Library Science. 

Read more about Teri.



Nomination Process

   Applicants need to complete:   

  • Nomination Cover Form
  • Nomination Letter—a one to two page letter that explains why you believe your nominee fits the criteria. It is important that you address each criteria area and provide specific details of accomplishment and/or service that will help the award committee in their final selection.
  • Professional Resume/Vitae

   Completed Nomination information
   must be submitted by June 1, 2012

NCTE Halle Award Committee
1111 W. Kenyon Road
Urbana, IL 61801-1096


Email Nomination information to 


A “middle level educator” is defined as anyone who has worked to improve schools and schooling for the middle level—teacher, principal, college person, curriculum specialist, or supervisor—not necessarily a classroom teacher.

Nominees must meet the following criteria: 

  • Encouraging a spirit of inquiry and development of critical and creative thinking within the profession;
  • Showing evidence of exemplary professional involvement, participation in activities such as workshops, curriculum development, and association programs and projects;
  • Connecting the classroom and the community;
  • Fostering the development of literacy education at the middle level;
  • Promoting research on the middle level student . 

Halle Award Guidelines   



Have questions or comments,
email us today!


Past Winners

Teri Lesesne, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX, 2011
James Johnston, Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, 2010
Roxanne Henkin, University of Texas, San Antonio, 2009
Howard Miller, Mercy College, Bronx, NY, 2008
Akiko Morimoto, Washington Middle School, Vista, CA, 2007 
Karen Morgan Delbridge, Johnson Jr. High School, Cheyenne, WY, 2006
Kim Ford, Cypress Middle School, Memphis, TN, 2004
Sandra Hayes, Becker Middle School, Becker, MN, 2003
Karen Smith, Arizona State University, Tempe, 2002
Kylene Beers, University of Houston, TX, 2001
Martha Magner, MacArthur Barr Middle School, Nanuet, NY, 2000
Linda Rief, Oyster River Middle School, Durham, NH, 1999
Katherine Ramsey, Arnold Jr. High, Houston, TX, 1998
Lanny van Allen, Texas Education Agency, Austin, TX, 1997
Richard W. Halle, Marshfield, Jr. High, Marshfield, WI, 1996


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts