National Council of Teachers of English Logo

NCTE Outstanding Elementary Educator in the English Language Arts Award

2016 Award Winner

Bess AltwergerBess Altwerger recently retired from her full-time position as professor of elementary education and graduate reading at Towson University. As an adjunct professor, she continues to teach advanced courses in literacy on a part-time basis, and her current activities are devoted to transforming repressive literacy policies, reprofessionalizing teaching, and returning joy to classrooms.  Learn more about Bess.


Nomination Deadline:  November 15

Purpose:  Established in 1995 to recognize a distinguished national or international educator who has made major contributions to the field of language arts in elementary education.

Award Criteria:  Nominees must have dramatically influenced literacy classroom practice, made ongoing contributions to the field of literacy, obtained national and/or international influence in literacy teaching and learning, contributed a body of work that is compatible with the mission of NCTE

Award Specifics:  The award recipient is presented a plaque at the Elementary Section Get-Together during the NCTE Annual Convention.

Deadline:  The Nomination Form must be submitted by November 15 to or by postal mail to NCTE Outstanding Elementary Educator Award, 1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL 61801-1096.

NOTE: Nomination Forms will also be accepted in person at the Elementary Section Get-Together during the NCTE Annual Convention.

Judging:  The Elementary Section Steering Committee determines the winner based upon nominations received each year from NCTE Elementary Section members. Only one nomination may be submitted per member.

Past Winners:

2015:  Anne Haas Dyson and Celia Genishi
2014:  Heidi Mills and Tim O'Keefe
2013:  David and Yvonne Freeman
2012:  JoBeth Allen
2011:  Kathy G. Short
2010:  Phillipa Stratton
2009:  Karen Smith
2008:  Carolyn Burke & Jerome Harste
2007:  Rudine Sims Bishop
2006:  Shelley Harwayne
2005:  Sonia Nieto
2004:  Vivian Gussin Paley
2003:  Bernice Cullinan
2002:  Dorothy Watson
2001:  Brian Cambourne
2000:  Carole Edelsky
1999:  Louise Rosenblatt
1998:  Dorothy Strickland
1997:  Charlotte Huck
1996:  Ken and Yetta Goodman
1995:  Donald Graves


Have questions or comments,
email us today!




Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2016 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram