National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Advancement of People of Color Leadership Award


2015 Recipient
Violet J. Harris
University of Illinois



2014 Recipient
Keith Gilyard
Penn State University, PA


 2013 Recipient
Vivian Vasquez
American University, Washington, DC



2012 Recipient
Geneva Smitherman
Department of English, Michigan State University

2011 Recipient
James L. Hill, Albany State University, Georgia
Read more on James Hill

2010 Recipient
Maria Franquiz, University of Texas, Austin

2009 Recipient
Arnetha Ball, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

2008 Recipient
Victor Villanueva, Washington State University, Pullman

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:


Anonymous commenting is not allowed. Please log in with an individual NCTE account to post comments to this page.

Most Recent Comments (0 Total Posts)

There are no comment postings on this page yet.

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

  • There currently are no related search terms for this page.


Copyright © 1998-2016 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:
Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest Instagram