National Council of Teachers of English Logo

Individuals Honored for Their Support of Intellectual Freedom


National Intellectual Freedom Award

Martha Brennan and Rebecca Slagle

Martha Brennan and Rebecca Slagle, from Louisville, KY, were named winners of the 2012 NCTE/SLATE National Intellectual Freedom Award for "demonstrating 'courage under fire' and showing persistence to 'bring truth to light' in a highly public and recognized educational setting."  They have shown courage in advancing the cause of intellectual freedom or fighting censorship.  Brennan and Slagle were nominated by the Kentucky Council of Teachers of English.

Honorable mention awards for 2012 will be given to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award organization, Aurora, CO.  

The National Intellectual Freedom Award is given by NCTE and a joint committee of members from the NCTE Standing Committee Against Censorship and the SLATE (Support for the Learning and Teaching of English) Steering Committee. The award will be announced on Thursday, November 15, during the Annual Convention in Las Vegas.


Intellectual Freedom Awards -- State, Regional, and Provincial Affiliate

Affiliates of NCTE are also encouraged to recognize individuals or groups close to home for their support of intellectual freedom. The following Affiliate Intellectual Freedom Awards will be announced at the Affiliate Breakfast during the NCTE Annual Convention.

Richard Herman, Academic Freedom Coalition of Nebraska, nominated by the Nebraska English Language Arts Council. Richard is recognized for being a "statewide voice for Nebraska concerning academic freedom."

Randy L. Hoover, nominated by the Ohio Council Teachers of English Language Arts.  Randy is recognized for his "willingness to challenge forces that threaten the empowerment of citizens." 


May 1 is the deadline for nominations for the national and the affiliate intellectual freedom awards.


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Join NCTE Today

Related Search Terms

  • There currently are no related search terms for this page.


Copyright © 1998-2019 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Visit us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts